cookieChocolate Chip Cookie Murder (Hannah Swensen #1) by Joanne Fluke
Release Date: September 1, 2000
Publisher: Kensington
Source: Digital Copy
Rating: starstarstarblank_starblank_star
Buy It: Amazon| IndieBound

Hannah Swensen already has her hands full, between dodging her mother’s attempts to marry her off, and running Lake Eden, Minnesota’s most popular bakery, The Cookie Jar. But when the Cozy Cow Dairy’s beloved deliveryman is found murdered behind Hannah’s bakery with her famous Chocolate Chip Crunchies scattered around him, Hannah sets out to track down a killer. The more Hannah snoops, the more suspects turn up. This is one murder that’s starting to leave a very bad taste in Hannah’s mouth, and if she doesn’t watch her back, her sweet life may get burned to a crisp.. – Goodreads

Review:

I remember reading this book when it first came out and loved it. I was in the middle of my mystery phase and it was exactly what I needed; however, then I started to read trashy romance novels and I stopped reading the series. Since I currently work at a library I have noticed how popular this series has become and I wanted to continue it seeing the series now has over ten books in it.

This series sadly isn’t nearly as good as I remember it. It was slow to get into, slow to care about anything. I couldn’t relate to as much about it as I could when I was in middle school (I also think it has something to do with the fact Hannah lives in Minnesota and I had just moved from Wisconsin.) But now while reading it all I could think about is that there are other book series I could be reading instead of it. Have I read worse mystery series? Yes, yes I have. Have I read better ones? Oh yes. Part of me is upset in myself for re-reading this, I ruined the good memories 12 year old Ashley had of it. But at the same time I’m glad I read it because it is a fun mystery series, that if in the right mood, it is perfect for.