huntedHunted (The Shadowing #1) by Adam Slater
Release Date: September 13, 2011
Publisher: EgmontUSA
Source: NetGalley
Rating: starstarstarstarblank_star
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

Once every century, the barrier between the human world and the demon realm begins to break down. Creatures gather, anxiously waiting to cross the divide, to bring death and destruction from their world to ours. This time is called The Shadowing.

Callum Scott has always known that there is a supernatural world out there—he’s seen ghosts for as long as he can remember. Lately, he’s had visions of children being brutally murdered by a terrifying creature. Then the visions start coming true, and Callum realizes that he’s being hunted, too.

Driven by a dark destiny, he must stand against the demons that threaten our world.

And The Shadowing is almost here…

Review:
I’ve been reading more and more books written from a male POV, which I like. It seems like books written in a male POV have less emphasis on the romance (minus the Caster Chronicles, of course), which appeals to me a good majority of the time. Unwind is another from a male POV (also written by a man) that’s pretty awesome. In fact, Callum reminds me of Connor in more ways than one. They’re both headstrong and impulsive, mostly invisible to their peers, and both are running from certain death. I like it.

The concept of a “chime child” isn’t new, even if the terminology is, and it reminds me a little of the Midnighters series by Scott Westerfeld. Callum can see ghosts and has premonitions. A black dog and a boy are following him, along with a creature we know of as the Hunter. As if that’s not enough, Callum has a boy from school out to get him as well. He’s seeing more ghosts, and his premonitions are becoming more and more accurate. He saves a girl, Melissa, from certain ketchup-on-stairs death, and they become friends.

I liked Melissa. She sounds like the kind of girl I wish I knew in high school. They describe her as New Age, with flowing skirts and sequins, always carrying a fantasy novel. And, of course, she’s the source of the information that leads Callum to who he really is. She’s loyal, even though she and Callum have only been friends for a few days, and she vigorously defends him when he’s falsely accused of a crime. She’s great and I want to know more about her.

When they say this book is horror, believe them. It’s not gory like Hostel, but there are a lot of descriptions of blood and eyes being ripped from sockets. It’s creepy, and I’m mostly glad I read this one at work and not at home, alone. There’s a lot of creeping around in dark woods (!), hanging out in abandoned churches (!!) in the middle of a centuries-old cemetery (!!!). Not my idea of fun by any stretch of the imagination. And, the monster? Can steal your face. Worst (yet most effective) identity theft EVER.

This book kept me fully engaged for its entirety. I read it in four hours! That’s like the best review I can give it. It means I couldn’t put it down, not even at my second work break. If a book keeps me in my desk chair even a second longer than I need to be in it, that means said book has succeeded in every way.