grimmGrim on NBC
Airs: Fridays, 9PM EST
Rating: starstarstarstarblank_star
Buy It: Amazon
Watch It: Hulu

The classic Grimms’ fairytales come to life like never before in this “dark and imaginative” (Mike Ayers, CNN.com Entertainment) series from the producers of Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Angel. Portland homicide detective Nick Burkhardt (David Giuntoli) discovers he’s descended from a long line of “Grimms,” who are charged with keeping balance between humanity and the creatures of myth. With newly awoken abilities to detect the evil lurking among us, Nick struggles to keep his old life separate and safe as he becomes ever more entrenched in the ancient rivalries of the Grimm world. Now, watch back-to-back and uninterrupted all 22 Season One episodes of this uniquely evocative series that critics rave “offers genuine scares” – Amazon

Review:
You know those shows you watch that you’re too embarrassed to admit about? You have to. Everyone does. I call them cracktastic, or craptastic shows. My friend calls them the more popular, “jumping the shark.” This is one of those shows. I can’t believe I’m doing a review about it. But in all honesty, I really am enjoying this show. I watch it on hulu, or On Demand on my tv mattering which one I have easier access to.

Grimm takes place in Portland, Oregon.and features Nick. Nick is a Portland PD cop, with Hank, who is his partner and BFF. The problem is Nick is a Grimm, a hunter who fights supernatural beings, and Hank has no idea. The two of them also have no idea that their boss is a hunter of Grimms and therefore is working against Nick. There have only been three episodes as of writing this and there is a lot of back story and questions that I’m wondering about that I hope will get brought up. Such as Nick lives with his girlfriend, when and how will she find out that he’s a Grim and how much will this mess her up. What about his partner Hank? Hank has been helping out on a lot of supernatural cases that he has no idea are supernatural cases. When will Nick find out how is parents died? Hint! Not the story he was originally told as a child. Of course, would you tell a young child his parents hunted supernatural beings and were killed by them? Eh, probably not. There is so much more I want and need to know.

The problem, if you could call it that, with all of these questions is that I’m sucked into this show. Yes, there is that other fairy tale show out right now that is equally, if not better to this show. But this show is fun and has sucked me into it, in the best way possible. Not that I needed another show. My general complaint in life is “TOO MANY BOOKS! TOO MUCH TV! NOT ENOUGH TIME!” Yes, it’s in capital letters, too.

Would I go out and buy this show? Probably not. But did I mind adding it to the list of already long shows I watch a week? Definitely not.