deathDeath Before Wicket by Kerry Greenwood
Release Date: January 1, 2008
Publisher: Poison Pen Press
Source: Audiobook
Rating: starstarblank_starblank_starblank_star
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

Phryne Fisher is on holiday. She means to take the train to Sydney (where the harbour bridge is being built), go to a few cricket matches, dine with the Chancellor of the university and perhaps go to the Arts Ball with that celebrated young modernist, Chas Nutall. She has the costume of a lifetime and she’s not afraid to use it. Phryne girds up her loins, loads her pearl-handled .32 Beretta, and sallies forth to find mayhem, murder, a bit of black magic, and perhaps a really good cocktail at the Hotel Australia. – Goodreads

Review:
In her 10th novel Phryne goes on a trip! To Sydney! It was nice to leave Melbourne for awhile, and there was a cricket back story and even a story involving Dot, Phryne’s companion. Yet this story could not be saved for me. It was dry, it was dull, it was boring. I missed the usual pizazz that is Phyrne Fisher in this story. Part of her is still there, but at the same time she changed a lot from the previous stories. Maybe that is because her lover, Lin Chung isn’t there and she obviously missed him.

I wanted to like this book. Really, I did. I tried to like this book. I love Phyrne Fisher (evidence here.) I love the fact it takes place in 1930s Australia. I love the fact this book series is fun and quick. However, Death Before Wicket, was rough. I can try to blame the fact that I was sick while I listened to most of this. A number of factors could go into the fact that this book just wasn’t my favorite Phyrne.

I did give it two stars however cause it is Phryne, and the writing is strong.