sherlockSherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows
Rating: starstarstarstarblank_star
Buy It: Amazon

Robert Downey Jr. reprises his role as the world’s most famous detective, Sherlock Holmes, and Jude Law returns as his friend and colleague, Dr. Watson, in Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows. Sherlock Holmes has always been the smartest man in the room… until now. There is a new criminal mastermind at large – Professor James Moriarty (Jared Harris) – and not only is he Holmes’ intellectual equal, but his capacity for evil, coupled with a complete lack of conscience, may give him an advantage over the renowned detective. Around the globe, headlines break the news: a scandal takes down an Indian cotton tycoon; a Chinese opium trader dies of an apparent overdose; bombings in Strasbourg and Vienna; the death of an American steel magnate… No one sees the connective thread between these seemingly random events – no one, that is, except the great Sherlock Holmes, who has discerned a deliberate web of death and destruction. At its center sits a singularly sinister spider: Moriarty. Holmes’ investigation into Moriarty’s plot becomes more dangerous as it leads him and Watson out of London to France, Germany and finally Switzerland. But the cunning Moriarty is always one step ahead, and moving perilously close to completing his ominous plan. If he succeeds, it will not only bring him immense wealth and power but alter the course of history. -Amazon

Review:
Have you ever been in a theater and been the only person laughing? I have been. During this movie, both times I saw it. I saw it the first time with my friend and we couldn’t stop laughing when no one else was. We were also 30 years younger than everyone. The second time I saw it, my father and I couldn’t stop laughing when no one else did. I went into this movie with low expectations. I do that often. Don’t get my hopes up, etc. Maybe that is why I enjoyed it when critics hated it.

I did though enjoy this movie. The slow-mo, the way Holmes explains the way his mind works, the bromance between Holmes and Watson, the fact watching it a second time helped me catch things I never saw the first time. This is the same Holmes and Watson we fell in love with in the first movie. They’re just fighting a new bad guy. But he’s not really a new bad guy, he was in the first movie as the “man with no face.” This was easily a continuation of the first, but in a sense that if you didn’t see the first you would still know whats going on. It is however a tad too long, even though I can’t think of a scene that was un-needed. In its own way this movie made me want to go to 1890 London and Paris.

There were just enough surprises and twists that I can’t recommend this enough. Plus, again, the bromance between Holmes and Watson, you can cut the tension with a knife. Even more then the first movie. Who knew that was possible?!