iehowmIs Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kaling
Release Date: November 1, 2011
Publisher: Crown Archetype
Source: Library
Rating: starstarstarblank_starblank_star
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

Mindy Kaling has lived many lives: the obedient child of immigrant professionals, a timid chubster afraid of her own bike, a Ben Affleck–impersonating Off-Broadway performer and playwright, and, finally, a comedy writer and actress prone to starting fights with her friends and coworkers with the sentence “Can I just say one last thing about this, and then I swear I’ll shut up about it?”

Perhaps you want to know what Mindy thinks makes a great best friend (someone who will fill your prescription in the middle of the night), or what makes a great guy (one who is aware of all elderly people in any room at any time and acts accordingly), or what is the perfect amount of fame (so famous you can never get convicted of murder in a court of law), or how to maintain a trim figure (you will not find that information in these pages). If so, you’ve come to the right book, mostly!

In Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?, Mindy invites readers on a tour of her life and her unscientific observations on romance, friendship, and Hollywood, with several conveniently placed stopping points for you to run errands and make phone calls. Mindy Kaling really is just a Girl Next Door—not so much literally anywhere in the continental United States, but definitely if you live in India or Sri Lanka.

Review:

I don’t know why I read this book.  I don’t even like The Office.  Awkward pseudo-documentaries aren’t for me unless they come in the shape of Modern Family.  I think I read the romantic comedies excerpt of this book on one of my feminist sites, and that’s why I put it on my TBR.  And I liked it, for the most part, though Mindy and I had next to nothing in common.  I liked her stories about her dubious grade school years and I envied her for her lifelong girlfriends.  I did especially like how she tears apart romantic comedies and their seemingly concrete tropes.  That part was fantastic.  I also enjoyed her little anecdotes about getting started in the business.  This book was like a little series of humorous essays rather than a  book.  I didn’t really relate to Mindy, per se, but it was fun to read about her exploits.  One section of her book that I liked a lot was called “Roasts are Terrible.”  She brings up a lot of good points!  Jeff Ross, take heed!  The summary of this book is longer than the review, but there’s not much else to say!  No plot to whine about, you know.  This one is short and funny, so if you’re just looking to pass a Saturday night, like I was, check this one out.