goddessThe Goddess Test by Aimee Carter
Release Date: October 16, 2012
Publisher: HarlequinTeen
Source: Library
Rating: starstarstarstarblank_star
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

EVERY GIRL WHO HAS TAKEN THE TEST HAS DIED.

NOW IT’S KATE’S TURN.

It’s always been just Kate and her mom–and her mother is dying. Her last wish? To move back to her childhood home. So Kate’s going to start at a new school with no friends, no other family and the fear that her mother won’t live past the fall.

Then she meets Henry. Dark. Tortured. And mesmerizing. He claims to be Hades, god of the Underworld–and if she accepts his bargain, he’ll keep her mother alive while Kate tries to pass seven tests.

Kate is sure he’s crazy–until she sees him bring a girl back from the dead. Now saving her mother seems crazily possible. If she suceeds, she’ll become Henry’s future bride and a goddess.

IF SHE FAILS.. – Goodreads

Review:
I hated this book. I resisted it for so long. I was recommended this book a good six months ago and could not get past the first 20 pages. Finally however, I was able to get back those first 20 pages and you know what happened. The book finally got good! It turned into one of those I actually started to care about. If you would have asked me at the beginning of the book, I would have given you an evil eye. It seems that evil eye would have been wasted. I want more of this book! I can’t wait for the next in the trilogy to come out!

This book was, however, easily predictable, had a handful of plots that were murky at best and I can see why the people on goodreads had issues with it.

But here’s the thing. I read this book in the middle of midterms week when I needed an escape from my head, and you know what, it provided that and it was lovely. The book also took place in a small town in Michigan. Seeing as I am from Wisconsin, I have a soft spot in my cold-bitter-black heart for anything Midwest.

This book is about Kate and her mom, but her mom’s dying. Kate and her mom are uber close and she will do anything to keep her mom alive; even though every year her mom’s doctors tell her “this is her last year.” Kate does not want to let her mom go. Which is where Henry comes into play. To say Henry is mysterious is an understatement. An understatement of understatements actually. He is willing to help Kate’s mom stay alive until Kate is ready to say goodbye.

Of course there is a price, but to Kate, it is worth it. She’s not ready to say goodbye to her mother. Will she ever be? When Kate agreed to Henry’s deal, she agreed to live with him for six months out of the year and be his wife. Oh, she also has to pass some tests. Doesn’t that sound lovely?

But in its own way it is quite lovely. I recommend it as a light read.