enthralledEnthralled: Paranormal Diversions by Melissa Marr and Kelley Armstrong
Release Date: September 20, 2011
Publisher: HarperCollins
Source: Library
Rating: starstarstarblank_starblank_star
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

A journey may take hundreds of miles, or it may cover the distance between duty and desire.

Sixteen of today’s hottest writers of paranormal tales weave stories on a common theme of journeying. Authors such as Kelley Armstrong, Rachel Caine, and Melissa Marr return to the beloved worlds of their bestselling series, while others, like Claudia Gray, Kami Garcia, and Margaret Stohl, create new land-scapes and characters. But whether they’re writing about vampires, faeries, angels, or other magical beings, each author explores the strength and resilience of the human heart.

Suspenseful, funny, or romantic, the stories in Enthralled will leave you moved.

Review:

I picked this one up for two reasons: first, I love Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl.  Their Caster Chronicles series is one of the most divisive in terms of fans; you either love those books, or you hate them.  I’ve never come across a person who doesn’t have visceral feelings about Lena and Ethan.  My second reason is I’m going to be starting the Soul Screamers novels soon, and I wanted to try out Rachel Vincent’s writing style before I really dove in.

I want to first of all say that I’m withholding judgment on the contributions of Melissa Marr, Kelley Armstrong, Kimberly Derting, and Rachel Vincent, because I haven’t read those series so I don’t really know what I’m missing.  I will say this: I didn’t like Wicked Lovely when I tried to read it, so I found myself not caring about Marr’s story much.  I’m intrigued by Armstrong’s Darkest Powers series after reading her contribution (even though the whole thing was one huge spoiler), and Derting’s contribution was one of my favorites.  I’m sketchier on Vincent’s, but I liked it enough that I’m a little more excited about starting Soul Screamers.

I didn’t really like Sarah Rees-Brennan’s contribution because it seemed too over the top until we finally got into the down and dirty of vampirism in that world.  I know it was supposed to be over the top, and that’s what makes it funny, but… I just wasn’t into it.  Jeri Smith-Ready’s premise was interesting, but I hate reading what should be prose, written in verse.  It’s like how some people can’t read first person present tense.  I cannot read books in verse.  In contrast, I loved Carrie Ryan’s zombie story, Kami Garcia and Claudia Gray’s ghosts, and Rachel Caine’s Morganville contribution (have to put those on my TBR too!).  Jackson Pearce’s sole gay contribution (m/m) was sweet, and she somehow managed to make the human protagonist realistic while the whole premise was crazy (genies!).

I liked this one and thought it was a good way to while away hours between homework and reading galleys.  I haven’t read all of these series, and I wish I had, as I think that would have made me enjoy things even more.  Nearly all of these series are now on my TBR so hopefully you’ll see them here soon!