fireThe Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson
Release Date: September 20, 2011
Publisher: Blahblahblah
Source: Library
Rating: starstarstarblank_starblank_star
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

Princess Elisa is a disappointment to her people. Although she bears the Godstone in her navel, a sign that she has been chosen for an act of heroism, they see her as lazy and useless and fat.On her sixteenth birthday, she is bartered off in royal marriage and shipped away to a kingdom in turmoil, where her much-older and extremely beautiful husband refuses to acknowledge her as his wife. Devastated, Elisa decides to take charge of her fate and learn what it means to bear the Godstone. As an invading army threatens to destroy her new home, and everyone at court maneuvers to take advantage of the young princess, Elisa becomes convinced that, not only is her own life in danger, the whole world needs saving. But how can a young girl who has never ridden horseback, never played the game of politics, and never attained the love of a man save the world? Elisa can’t be sure, but she must try to uncover the Godstone’s secret history before the enemy steals the destiny nestled in her core. – Goodreads

Review:
I should have liked this book. Okay, let me put it this way, I should have liked this book more than I did. I liked it. I think I just had high expectations of it. Tina was a huge fan of it. I trust her opinions, and yet this book took me still took me forever to get into. I wanted to get into it, I really did. And I did, but by that time, I was at the end.

Even with that being said: the writing was fantastic. The fact that Carson killed anyone was awesome because so many authors fear killing off people, it seems. I fell in love with a character; chapters later they were dead. The writing being fabulous helped take away a bit of the sting. I’m the reader who gets a wee bit attached to the characters. I’ll admit, when I first started this book I hated the main character. Elisa annoyed me to no end. If it was my book I would have thrown it across the room. She was whiny and needy and I don’t want to say had no purpose, but for a bit there she really had no purpose. She was a spoiled princess (and it’s not that I hate princesses, oh no, I love princesses). But Elisa has a purpose. She is sent from God to serve her purpose and then die. How fun, right?

She is politically married off to a widower with a child. This sets off a whole chain of events that change and affect her life forever. Most of these events I cannot tell you about and instead have to force you to read the book, or at least go read Tina’s post. She said it much better than I ever could.