underworldUnderworld (Abandon Trilogy #2) by Meg Cabot
Release Date: May 8, 2012
Publisher: Point
Source: Personal Copy
Rating: starstarstarblank_starblank_star
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Meg Cabot, the dark reimagining of the Persephone myth begun in ABANDON continues … into the Underworld.

Seventeen-year-old Pierce Oliviera isn’t dead.

Not this time.

But she is being held against her will in the dim, twilit world between heaven and hell, where the spirits of the deceased wait before embarking upon their final journey.

Her captor, John Hayden, claims it’s for her own safety. Because not all the departed are dear. Some are so unhappy with where they ended up after leaving the Underworld, they’ve come back as Furies, intent on vengeance . . . on the one who sent them there and on the one whom he loves.

But while Pierce might be safe from the Furies in the Underworld, far worse dangers could be lurking for her there . . . and they might have more to do with its ruler than with his enemies.

And unless Pierce is careful, this time there’ll be no escape.-Amazon

Review:
I should probably start this review with the obvious, I’m quite the Meg Cabot fan. Always have been always will be. Underworld is the second book in her Abandon Trilogy. This trilogy is a retelling of a well known Greek myth.

This book starts off right where the first one ends, Pierce awakens in the underworld with her boyfriend, John. After she mistakenly eats food while in the underworld she is not allowed to leave. Never see her family again. Pierce accepts this as her fate until her phone works in the underworld and she sees a video of her cousin in trouble. Pierce is fairly close to her cousin and feels responsible for the current pain he is in.

Pierce is able to get John to let her go back to the “living” world and meet up with her cousin. Here’s the thing: since Pierce has been gone, and it hasn’t been too long, her cousin has become somewhat of a badass. He has his reasons, and they are explained, but he’s still a badass, who by the end of the book is a changed man, in an interesting turn of events.

While I enjoyed this book I did have a few pet peeves with it. My first one is John. I get the bad boy appeal, man do I get the bad boy appeal. But John is almost too much of a bad boy to the point I’m annoyed and I don’t see why Pierce truly likes/loves him. Yes, he has somewhat changed himself for the better for her, but when it comes down to it I think Pierce would be better off without him. Part of me wishes there would be another love interest in the book that I could root for. Even with John, I have faith in Cabot and this trilogy, if I have learned anything from Cabot and her previous books it’s that the love always wins and works out for the best.

Will I be reading the last and final book in the trilogy? Yes, yes I will be. Will it be because of this book? No. It will be because I’m in love with Meg Cabot’s writing.