struckStruck by Jennifer Bosworth
Release Date: May 8, 2012
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux BYR
Source: NetGalley
Rating: DNF
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

Mia Price is a lightning addict. She’s survived countless strikes, but her craving to connect to the energy in storms endangers her life and the lives of those around her.

Los Angeles, where lightning rarely strikes, is one of the few places Mia feels safe from her addiction. But when an earthquake devastates the city, her haven is transformed into a minefield of chaos and danger. The beaches become massive tent cities. Downtown is a crumbling wasteland, where a traveling party moves to a different empty building each night, the revelers drawn to the destruction by a force they cannot deny. Two warring cults rise to power, and both see Mia as the key to their opposing doomsday prophecies. They believe she has a connection to the freak electrical storm that caused the quake, and to the far more devastating storm that is yet to come.

Mia wants to trust the enigmatic and alluring Jeremy when he promises to protect her, but she fears he isn’t who he claims to be. In the end, the passion and power that brought them together could be their downfall. When the final disaster strikes, Mia must risk unleashing the full horror of her strength to save the people she loves, or lose everything.

Review:
This one took me a looooong time to get into.  I want to blame myself because the whole religious cult thing is not something I’d normally subject myself to, and I am sort of biased against all things ultra-religious.  There are, however, legitimate problems with this one, like insta-love, a completely undeveloped dystopian America, and nonsensical powers brought on by lightening.  We never get any further explanation than that.  I was really not interested in hearing about prophets and God and apocalyptic rants for three hundred plus pages, plus I was deathly afraid of not only that, but of Mia joining the Followers and me having to deal with religious dogma on every single page.  Maybe you don’t know this, but my life is firmly secular.  I prefer my supernatural occurences to be supernatural, not “from God.”  I was never offended, just supremely annoyed.  This is a story you’ve read a million times, just disguised by cool lightning powers and religious sects.  Mia is also, unfortunately, Too Stupid to Live more often than not.  She does that thing that all fictional teenagers seem to do and refuses to talk to anyone.  That made me CRAZY.  TALK TO YOUR BROTHER, MIA, FOR THE LOVE OF GOD.

When we meet the love interest, Jeremy, we not only find out he has “beautifully tortured blue eyes” (sigh), but he was also the one holding the knife over Mia while she slept in the first chapter.  Awesome.  Lovely.  Perfect.  I tried not to hate Mia, but it was really hard.  I get that she doesn’t trust anyone, I get that she’s trying to protect her brother, but, Mia, you are close to starving, your mother can’t take care of herself, and you need help.  And more help than what can be given by one boy with “tortured” eyes.  I knew that the Seekers and Followers were probably equally evil in some way, but they seemed more interesting than being in Mia’a head all the time.  I would have preferred Parker’s head even.  I would have also preferred to not be subjected to Mia’s almost-rape in chapter nine, but I get why it was in there.  I kind of wanted to quit at that point, though, because Jeremy comes to save her, and all Mia can think about is whether or not he saw her lightening scars.  SIGH.  She almost gets raped, but she doesn’t even think about it afterward.  It’s like Jeremy saved her, so the almost rape never happened.  That squicked me a bit.

And that is where I stopped.  This is my first DNF of 2012, and I’m sorry I can’t finish it, but I don’t like reading books that piss me off for more than a third of the story.  I couldn’t keep torturing myself.  So, this one wasn’t for me, but I didn’t rate it, as maybe it gets better in the second two thirds.