ecEmerald City by Alicia K. Leppert
Release Date: April 10, 2012
Publisher: Sweetwater Books
Source: NetGalley
Rating: DNF
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

Olivia Tate is a broken shell of a girl haunted by the tragic events that fill her past. She has closed herself off from the world, each day grasping at something—anything—to live for. Convinced there will never be a way out, she seeks solace in the depths of her medicine cabinet. When she wakes up days later in the hospital she is introduced to Jude, the quiet stranger responsible for saving her life. She never could have guessed then that her mysterious rescuer would end up saving her life a second time, while simultaneously turning her world upside down

Review:
Oliva is a girl who has given up. Her mother has recently committed suicide, and Olivia has fallen into a deep depression. The book begins with Olivia’s own suicide attempt, so, heads up, this one is dark and heavy. And I had a hard time getting into this one. I’m a fan of therapy and anti-depressants, and it’s hard for me to deal with someone like Olivia, who becomes angry at the slightest push. She’s depressed, so I cut her some slack, but I never really got close to her. I started off annoyed at how quickly she was released from the hospital as well, because she clearly is a danger to herself, but Jude lied to the doctors (which Olivia questions later). I don’t know, I like and trust most doctors, so it was weird to see them so distrustful. There are also alternating POV in this book, but that almost never bothers me. And I’ll admit, as the story went along, I got more interested if not closer to Olivia and Jude.

Okay, now let me state for the record that I dislike angel books for the most part (unless the author is Cynthia Hand). I am firmly agnostic, and therefore don’t believe in angels, and I find that almost every angel book has a little bit of preachy in it (including the Unearthly series). I don’t want to be preached at, so I avoid most angel books, and I went into this one feeling very wary. Despite that, I really don’t think I went in with any preconceived notions. I am open to everything in YA, and am willing to give even sub-genres I hate a chance. I found myself wishing Olivia was one of those angry depressed types instead of I-fall-apart-at-the-drop-of-a-hat types, solely so it would be easier on me to read. I realize that’s selfish, but really, there’s not a lot of plot happening here. It’s all Olivia panicking or Jude romancing. Once again, as with The Dead Girls Detective Agency, I felt like this one was too romance-focused for me. I wasn’t expecting this one to be a romance, so I was disappointed. (This is entirely my fault for only skimming the summary on NetGalley.) But here’s one thing: I hate when women bemoan the loss of chivalry. To me, chivalry = sexism. I can open my own door, I can carry my own bag, unless I ask, then feel free to carry it. I realize I am in the minority here.

I stopped reading this one around the one-quarter mark. It’s my second DNF of the year. If you like flimsy romance and angels, this one is for you, but it wasn’t for me.