9859436Something Strange and Deadly by Susan Dennard
Release Date: July 24, 2012
Publisher: HarperTeen
Source: Library
Rating: DNF
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

The year is 1876, and there’s something strange and deadly loose in Philadelphia…

Eleanor Fitt has a lot to worry about. Her brother has gone missing, her family has fallen on hard times, and her mother is determined to marry her off to any rich young man who walks by. But this is nothing compared to what she’s just read in the newspaper—

The Dead are rising in Philadelphia.

And then, in a frightening attack, a zombie delivers a letter to Eleanor…from her brother.

Whoever is controlling the Dead army has taken her brother as well. If Eleanor is going to find him, she’ll have to venture into the lab of the notorious Spirit-Hunters, who protect the city from supernatural forces. But as Eleanor spends more time with the Spirit-Hunters, including their maddeningly stubborn yet handsome inventor, Daniel, the situation becomes dire. And now, not only is her reputation on the line, but her very life may hang in the balance. – Goodreads

Review:

Something Tina hates about me, other than the fact that I use “sorry I’m being selfish” in the wrong way, is I must finish a book. If I start a book I have to finish it. Very rarely do I not finish (DNF) a book. That being said, multiple times I kept almost DNF’ing this book. And finally at 63% I gave up. I took my bookmark out, closed the book, and sighed a happy sigh.

My friends on Goodreads gave this book glowing and rave reviews, and I know I should have thoroughly enjoyed it. But I couldn’t. It is not a me book. At all. I would often put the book down, pick it up again and go “okay, what happened?” I just didn’t find myself invested in these characters at all. Despite that, it was still a solid book. Dennard is a strong solid writer that I will love to read more from, just not this series.

I honestly can not tell you a thing about this book. There is a girl? And two love interests? And some undead? For someone who remembers the most random details about a book, this is not a good sign for this series. Which, again, is sad because so many of my friends loved and adored this book.