Top Ten Tuesday is a new thing we are trying at yAdultReview, because, well why not? Plus, we know Ashley loves her some lists, and Tina just likes Ashley being happy, so ta-da!  For our blog generally Ashley will be number 1-5, and Tina will be 6-10.

In the words of The Broke and the Bookish who host the feature:

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

This week’s topic is perfect for me, Ashley. I own hundreds of books that I had to own, but at the same time I have yet to read. Book buying is an addiction that I openly have. Remind me to tell you about Amazon and midnight shopping; two of my friends have issues believing it.

  1. The Caster Chronicles Series by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl. I own the whole series, but I just don’t have redeptiontime to read them. Mostly because Tina warned me that they are angsty in parts and we all know I have angst issues, so I waited until the series finished to read them. The series has now ended and I have yet to read them. Mostly because my TBR list continues to grow. I know, I know, such a problem to have. (Note from Tina: I had a minor meltdown when I read this. Ethan Wate, Ashley. Eeeeethan Waaaaaaate.)
  2. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. Everyone I know loves and adores this book and to be fair, I’m sure I will too. But I did my undergrad thesis on France and World War II, and this book came out around the time of said thesis. The thought of reading more literature on World War II during that time period depressed me. Since this book has such a heavy theme and topic, I needed to take a break between school and The Book Thief. Sadly, that break has turned into almost four years. Whoops.
  3. The Hush Hush Series by Becca Fitzpatrick. I read the first one mighty quickly and assumed I would breeze through the rest of the book series when they came out. Sadly, I own them all and they just all sit on my bookshelf waiting to be read. I heard so-so things about the second book from one of my friends and I just didn’t have a need to read them. Yet again, I had to have them.
  4. The Secret Series by Pseudonymous Bosch.  I have heard nothing but good things about this series. The whole series has glowing reviews, and I own the first book, but have yet to get to them.
  5. The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff. I bought this book forever ago because once again, everyone I know loves and adores the book. But I just haven’t had time to pick it up and start it. Which is sad for me, and the book.
  6. Huntress by Malindo Lo. I love Malindo Lo, and I loved her first novel, Ash. Lo writes LGBT fiction, and she’s fabulous at it, and she also manages to incorporate people of color. She’s said before that her worlds don’t contain homophobia or racism, so there’s no freaking out over same-sex couples or mixed race marriages, and it’s true. It feels like a world I want to live in. I bought Huntress the moment it came out… but I just haven’t ever picked it up. I really need to. It’s on my list for 2013.
  7. Witchlanders by Lena Coakley. Does anyone remember when Simon and Schuster did GalleyGrab? It’s defunct now, but Witchlanders is one of the books I started reading, but the galley expired before I could finish it. Then I had to wait forever for it to come out, and my library never got it (my library is terrible), so I bought it on Amazon. And now it just sits6527740 on my shelf, glaring at me. It hasn’t gotten much attention, but that’s all right, because I remember loving and hating the main character, Ryder. A male narrator in a standalone fantasy novel? I really need to get on with the reading.
  8. Last Sacrifice by Richelle Mead. Oh, Vampire Academy. How I loathe you. Admittedly, I loved the first three books. They are still some of my favorites, but by the time I got to Spirit Bound… I don’t know, I felt like Rose was not the same character I wanted to follow. In fact, I hated her, especially her treatment of Adrian, who I’ve always liked more than Dimitri. I felt like her character was assassinated, and I had no desire to see how her story ended. Don’t even get me started on Blood Promise. I honestly don’t know if I’ll ever read this one. I’ve started reading Bloodlines instead.
  9. Mistborn: The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson. I love fantasy. I believe my bio here says it’s my first love, and that is still true. And I actually did read maybe 50 pages of this one. But it is. So. BORING. I can’t get into it. I don’t know if it’s because I’m not really a fan of Sanderson’s politics, or if I’m just unable to read books with so much description and so little dialogue, but I cannot force myself to pick this one back up.
  10. Stone of Tears by Terry Goodkind. I loved Wizard’s First Rule and the show it inspired, Legend of the Seeker. I was super psyched when I found out the second book started where the first one left off, so I immediately ordered it… and discovered it’s NINE HUNDRED PAGES LONG. That is not an exaggeration. It is literally 900+ pages long. That is two long books in one. Plus? It’s all written in 10-point font. I just… it’s the most daunting thing I have ever encountered as a reader, and I am A READER. I’ll get around to it. Someday. Maybe.