Top Ten Tuesday is a new thing we are trying at yAdultReview, because, well why not? Plus, we know Ashley loves her some lists, and Tina just likes Ashley being happy, so ta-da!  For our blog generally Ashley will be number 1-5, and Tina will be 6-10.

In the words of The Broke and the Bookish who host the feature:

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

Limiting this down to five is hard enough for both of us, but we shall prevail!

  1. Keeper of the Lost Cities by Shannon Messenger. Really, are you shocked? Really? I know you aren’t. But it’s nice of109059 you to act shocked. This is my go-to feel good book. I feel the need to re-read it now that I’m thinking about it. The characters, the plot, everything just makes me happy.
  2. Crash by Lisa McMann. Lisa McMann, 2 me u r purrfect. No really. I love and adore this book. If anything the only thing that upsets me is that books 2-4 aren’t out yet and I need to know and I need to know what happens now. But Crash is such a quick read that I can’t help but recommend it to people.
  3. Scaredy Squirrel Series by Mélanie Watt. I never reviewed the series here, but this is hands down one of my favorite children’s series. My BFFSarah and I found this series when we worked together at a public library and we still patiently wait for the next in the series to come out. I just got an ARC of Scaredy Squirrel goes camping and I can’t wait to read it.
  4. Matilda by Roald Dahl. A girl who loves to read and has magical powers, what more does one want from a Roald Dahl novel?
  5. Bet Me by Jennifer Crusie. While the rest of my JR high class was reading the classics and usual middle grade books, I was reading trashy romance novels. This is probably why most “smut” doesn’t phase me. Because when you read it at 12/13 it takes a lot to make you shocked. This book is my idea of a perfect contemporary romance that helped Crusie move her way into my favorites/must read list.
  6. Grave Mercy by RL LaFevers. Just read my review. Seriously. Angsty gothic perfection.crash
  7. Seraphina by Rachel Hartman. This is one of the best YA fantasy novels in existence. Seriously. An awesome heroine, a backburner romance, dragons, and a princess is who more than she seems. I cannot wait for the next novel. (Review.)
  8. Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo. Another simply fantastic YA fantasy novel. I loved the Darkling, who is a villain in the best way, and I also loved the unrequited love Alina had for Mal. The way citizens were twisted by magic was grotesque in this one, and I loved how Bardugo made the Grisha society seem so lush. Worldbuilding was beyond perfect in this one. Dark, dark, dark. (Review.)
  9. Crash by Lisa McMann. Once again: read the review. This book blew me away, but that’s nothing new for a novel by McMann.
  10. Divergent by Veronica Roth. Still at the top of my list for best YA dystopia. This one just does it so well, and not only because it takes place in my beloved city. Tris and Four had such an awesome romantic unfolding, and Roth is not afraid to maim or kill her darlings. I love that in a YA author. There are so few willing to do so.