Top Ten Tuesday is a new thing we are trying at yAdultReview, because, well why not? Plus, we know Ashley loves her some lists, and Tina just likes Ashley being happy, so ta-da!  For our blog generally Ashley will be number 1-5, and Tina will be 6-10.

In the words of The Broke and the Bookish who host the feature:

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

  1. The Mediator Series by Meg Cabot. I have been a big fan of Meg Cabot for as long as I can remember. This YA series of her is an amazing YA series that is often overlooked by people. The story of Suze is just *sigh* it’s bittersweet, heartbreaking, but perfect all at the same time.
  2. Trial by Journal by Kate Klise. I love and adore this grade/middle school book. Told from the point of ajournal student who is forced to serve on a jury with drawings and story telling. The book made me have a strong middle grade period of reading that has been recently reignited. 
  3. Holes by Louis Sachar. Sachar has always held a special spot of my childhood. I remember going to the library and gobbling up all the books that he had wrote. This being one that I most remember of course.
  4. Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White. This is one of the first books I remember my mom and dad reading to me before bed, which is probably why I hold these so special to my heart.
  5. Little House on the Prairie by Laura Ingalls Wilder. As a child who grew up in Wisconsin these books were part of my childhood. To say that is actually a bit of an understatement. These books were my childhood. I knew them backwards and forwards. I saw them acted out 100s of times and they are still one of my favorite series.
  6. Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen. I love Jane Austen, but I don’t love Pride and Prejudice. It’s my least favorite of her novels. I just never liked Lizzie Bennet OR Darcy. They drove me equally crazy. Elinor Dashwood, on the other hand, was so nice to read about. Sensible, long-suffering, selfless, Elinor is just the best. She deals so well with Marianne’s flightiness, and Edward’s seeming rejection of Elinor is dealt with with a lot of grace. I was really happy for her at the end. There is, of course, a moral to the story, as there is with all Austen novels, and the way she skewers regency society is just the best.
  7. The Lady and the Unicorn by Tracy Chevalier. Back before I discovered YA (or before it became a thing, I guess), I read mostly fantasy and historical fiction. Tracy Chevalier has never let me down once, but this one is definitely my favorite of her offerings. She weaves the history and the story so well, it’s hard to believe it didn’t actually happen that way. The fact that the artist is called “des Innocents” when he is really anything but was hilarious to me. And the way she described the weaver’s craft was fascinating. This is the only book by Chevalier that I don’t own. I should get on that.
  8. Daughter of the Blood by Anne Bishop. Really, the whole Black Jewels trilogy (there are something like 10 47956books in the series now, but the original trilogy is the best). I realize now that it’s basically a paranormal romance novel, but back when I first read this as a sophomore in high school, it was racy and erotic and almost real. The sexism in Terreille, the broken down matriarchal society,  rang true to me in a big way. There are also rapes and horrible maiming, and Anne Bishop does such a good job giving those two horrible things their due. Her worldbuilding is fantastic. There’s more to this trilogy than romance.
  9. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. Really, what can I say about this that hasn’t already been said (or that I myself haven’t already said)? Suzanne Collins does such a good job mixing different elements of society and morals in this tale, and her worldbuilding is also great. Katniss is one of my favorite heroines. Collins can write such good doubtful heroine, and the horror that I felt reading about Katniss’s first turn in the area is something that I don’t think I’ll ever forget. I remember leaving this novel shipping Katniss and Gale. Oh, how things change!
  10. Wake by Lisa McMann. I don’t think a list of books can go by on this blog without the mention of Lisa McMann. This was the first book I ever read by her, and I loved it to death. Janie Hannagan is badass, capable, and heartbreaking all at once. She is one of the strongest YA heroines I have ever read about. And Cabel’s life is just as hard, and he is just as emotionally bruised. I loved their interactions, how they navigated this unknown world of friendship and attraction, and how the backdrop of their lower-class status lent itself to their characters and impressions. Still my favorite Lisa McMann novel to date.