dbDeep Betrayal (Lies Beneath #2) by Anne Greenwood Brown
Release Date: March 12, 2013
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Source: NetGalley
Rating: starstarstarblank_starblank_star
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

It’s been thirty days, two hours, and seventeen minutes since Calder left Lily standing on the shores of Lake Superior. Not that she’s counting. And when Calder does return, it’s not quite the reunion Lily hoped for. Especially after she lets her father in on a huge secret: he, like Calder, is a merman. Obsessed with his new identity, Lily’s dad monopolizes Calder’s time as the two of them spend every day in the water, leaving Lily behind.

Then dead bodies start washing ashore. Calder blames his mermaid sisters, but Lily fears her father has embraced the merman’s natural need to kill. As the body count grows, everyone is pointing fingers. Lily doesn’t know what to believe—only that whoever’s responsible is sure to strike again…

Review:
So I had only lukewarm feelings about the first book in this series, but the mermaids were so evil in this one that I had to try again. This story is narrated by Lily, which I think made the whole story transform from simply paranormal to paranormal romance. Lily reminded me of Bella Swan from New Moon early on with the way her personality basically disappeared because she hadn’t seen Calder for thirty whole days. The difference between Lily and Bella is that Lily is still a little freaked out by Calder, still a little unsure that he won’t hurt her, accidentally or not. Lily is a bad listener though, and she puts herself in danger for stupid reasons. She’s afraid of Calder, but not his murderous sisters, who will kill her if they find out she’s still alive. And then after a brush with death, all she can worry about is being shipped back to Minneapolis, where she won’t be able to see Calder anymore. Seriously, she’s almost killed once again and all she cares about is whether Calder thinks she’s attractive when naked. I found that endlessly frustrating. I just didn’t like being in Lily’s head in the beginning of this book. It was disappointing because she seemed so smart in the first book. I don’t want to say Lily is Too Stupid To Live, but if the shoe fits… I mean, I get it, the water calls to her, but, girl, you need to stay in the house. Read a book. Watch a movie. Get lost on BuzzFeed. Anything but swim! But the girl is weak-willed. She can’t say no. Not to anyone or anything. Sorry to be harsh, but it’s not a lie.

And something else: we’re told Lily and Calder are in love, that they have some connection, but I never really saw that. They don’t seem to have any chemistry at all, actually. Eventually I started hoping Maris would actually kill Lily so we’d all be put out of our misery. I believe I stated this in my review of the first novel too.

One this that is good is Brown’s writing. I was never bored, the plot moved along, and I sort of breezed right through. The story is good, but the narrator was not and the romance was so unbelievable and distracting. I liked Lily so much more when we only saw her through Calder’s eyes.

So I’ve said all of this but by the two-thirds mark, I started enjoying the characters again. The plot moves really fast at that point and Lily is back to being that smart girl I saw in Lies Beneath. I liked it. There’s something to be said for that, changing opinions, because it shows even a little bit of growth in the characters. Plus I read this one in like eight hours. It’s quick. So in the end, I liked it. I just wish it didn’t have such a Twilight feel. I’ll be around for the next one in this series too.