Top Ten Tuesday is a new thing we are trying at yAdultReview, because, well why not? Plus, we know Ashley loves her some lists, and Tina just likes Ashley being happy, so ta-da!  For our blog generally Ashley will be number 1-5, and Tina will be 6-10. (Tina would like to make it known that as Queen of Angst, this one was really hard.)

In the words of The Broke and the Bookish who host the feature:

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

  1. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins. Oh Stephanie Perkins you own my fluffy heart. Which I know198838 pains Tina because Tina doesn’t do fluff at all in comparison to me. But Stephanie is my go to person for happy fluffy thing. Plus she was super nice in person which made me love her books even more.
  2. Paranormalcy by Kiersten White. Another fluffy find. Evie is so much fun! And snarky! And a fan of pink (which okay, I’m not) but it still an over all good read.
  3. Chowder by Peter Brown. You all should be really happy that I didn’t list all of mine as picture books. Picture books hold a special place in my heart from childhood, to children books I devoured when I worked at a public library and I couldn’t put them down. This is a more recent picture book that is beyond perfect.
  4. Trial by Journal by Kate Klise. I know. I know, I’ve mentioned this book before, but I still love and adore it. It is one of my favorite middle grade books.
  5. Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine. Yes. The movie wasn’t remotely perfect. But to me, the book is. It’s so nice and happy and a classic retelling.
  6. Paranormalcy by Kiersten White. I loved this novel so much more than is characteristic of me, because Evie was badass and funny and the Fae were sufficiently creepy, and Raquel had all her different sighs. Loved this one.
  7. Catherine, Called Birdy by Karen Cushman. Snarky historical fiction following around a girl who repeatedly sabotages her father’s attempts to marry her off? Perfect! This one is middle-grade, and I loved it so when I was growing up.
  8. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins. I hate fluff and romance for the sake of romance and a plot driven solely by romance, and I have my issues with Perkins’ novels, but they always make me feel good at the end.
  9. The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan. I love Percy Jackson. I credit him with getting me into the YA of now. There are trials in the Percy Jackson novels, but the original five are more funny than anything else, and watching Percy stumble his way through being a child of Poseidon is always a fun experience for me.
  10. The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. I am a Sherlock Holmes fangirl. I love RDJ’s Sherlock, I love Laurie R. King’s Sherlock, and I love the original the most. The mysteries aren’t always tied up with a perfect bow, but they help me escape for awhile into a simpler time in England with Watson and the intrepid detective.