I read a lot of books. Often at speeds which make it hard to review ALL the books I read in a month. Because of this I will be doing monthly recaps with a quick bite about how much I love/hated the book. –Ashley

11235712Cinder (Lunar Chronicles #1) by Marissa Meyer
Release Date: January 3, 2012
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
Source: Audiobook from the library
Rating: starstarstarstarblank_star
Buy It: Amazon| IndieBound

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl. . . .

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

Review:

Tina previously reviewed this book here. I thoroughly enjoyed this quick read and cannot wait for the second book. It was unique and not the typical Ashley book. Plus I kind of fell in love with Prince Kai. Which is always nice. I enjoy a good book boyfriend. The story was unique and an exciting twist on a fairy tale everyone has heard a million times. I cannot wait for the next book in this series.

954674Little Brother (Little Brother #1) by Cory Doctorow
Release Date: April 29th 2008
Publisher: Tor Teen
Source: Personal Copy
Rating: starstarstarstarblank_star
Buy It: Amazon| IndieBound

Marcus aka “w1n5t0n,” is only seventeen years old, but he figures he already knows how the system works–and how to work the system. Smart, fast, and wise to the ways of the networked world, he has no trouble outwitting his high school’s intrusive but clumsy surveillance systems.

But his whole world changes when he and his friends find themselves caught in the aftermath of a major terrorist attack on San Francisco. In the wrong place at the wrong time, Marcus and his crew are apprehended by the Department of Homeland Security and whisked away to a secret prison where they’re mercilessly interrogated for days.

When the DHS finally releases them, his injured best friend Darryl does not come out. The city has become a police state where every citizen is treated like a potential terrorist. He knows that no one will believe his story, which leaves him only one option: “M1k3y” will take down the DHS himself

Review:

There was a lot of irony in me reading this book. Mostly because I fear big brother like no other. Most of my friends laugh at me because they think I’m joking. No, my paranoia about that doesn’t allow me to joke about it. Here’s the thing this book is really well done. It scares me and makes me think about easily something like this could happen in 2013 in America and that was clearly one of the points that Doctorow was trying to do prove. Watch out. Look what could happen. Trust your instincts. I cannot wait to read the second book in the series.