11387515Wonder by R.J. Palacio
Release Date: February 14, 2012
Publisher: Knopf
Source: Library
Rating: starstarstarstarstar
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

I won’t describe what I look like. Whatever you’re thinking, it’s probably worse.

August (Auggie) Pullman was born with a facial deformity that prevented him from going to a mainstream school—until now. He’s about to start 5th grade at Beecher Prep, and if you’ve ever been the new kid then you know how hard that can be. The thing is Auggie’s just an ordinary kid, with an extraordinary face. But can he convince his new classmates that he’s just like them, despite appearances?

R. J. Palacio has written a spare, warm, uplifting story that will have readers laughing one minute and wiping away tears the next. With wonderfully realistic family interactions (flawed, but loving), lively school scenes, and short chapters, Wonder is accessible to readers of all levels.

Review:

I read this book while extremely sick. This is not important to this review at all minus the fact I couldn’t breathe well. So there I am reading a book while focusing on my breathing only to cry for most of this book. While crying my eyes out on the couch reading this, I couldn’t stop looking at both of my parents going “YOU HAVE TO READ THIS BOOK.” I kept having to make it clear that while I was crying, and crying, and crying. I was crying for generally good reasons.

This is the story of August, or Auggie. Auggie was born with a facial deformity that is never made clear exactly what it looks like because “it’s worse than what you think.” Told from multiple point of views Wonder is amazing. There is nothing about this book I can say that hasn’t already been said but you really need to read it. It will make you cry, it will make you hate people because yes people really are that mean, but it will also give you hope. So much hope.

I finished the book, continued to cry, even though it ends on a good note and I looked at my parents and I thanked them. I put my parents through a lot of shit. I mean, who doesn’t, we’re their children. We’re supposed to, but they raised me the best they could, just like Auggie’s parents did. Even though this is told from multiple povs, you never get an adults view on Auggie’s life. The closest you get to an adult view is Auggie’s older sister who is a freshman in high school who had to grow up extremely fast once Auggie was born.

There are very few books I’ve read this year that have truly changed me as a person but this is one of them. I also know that personally, as much as I love and adore this book (and I do) I will not visit Auggie often. Auggie holds a very special part of my heart but Auggie also brings up many middle school feelings that I cannot revisit often. But do I recommend Wonder? So much that I can’t not recommend it.