spiesSpies and Prejudice by Talia Vance
Release Date: June 11, 2013
Publisher: Egmont
Source: NetGalley
Rating: starstarblank_starblank_starblank_star
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

Fields’ Rule #1: Don’t fall for the enemy.

Berry Fields is not looking for a boyfriend. She’s busy trailing cheaters and liars in her job as a private investigator, collecting evidence of the affairs she’s sure all men commit. And thanks to a pepper spray incident during an eighth grade game of spin the bottle, the guys at her school are not exactly lining up to date her, either.

So when arrogant—and gorgeous—Tanner Halston rolls into town and calls her “nothing amazing,” it’s no loss for Berry. She’ll forget him in no time. She’s more concerned with the questions surfacing about her mother’s death.

But why does Tanner seem to pop up everywhere in her investigation, always getting in her way? Is he trying to stop her from discovering the truth, or protecting her from an unknown threat? And why can’t Berry remember to hate him when he looks into her eyes?

With a playful nod to Jane Austen, Spies and Prejudice will captivate readers as love and espionage collide.– Goodreads

Review:

Here is an interesting tidbit about me: I am not the biggest Jane Austen fan. Most people/bloggers I know gasp at something like that being said. But it’s true. That being said, I enjoy Pride and Prejudice mostly cause I enjoy the whole banter and misunderstanding and the ending.  So Pride and Prejudice with a Veronica Mars vibe? SIGN ME UP! I was so, so, so, excited to read this.

Then I started it. And I got bored. Quickly. Vance’s writing is not to blame. Often an author’s writing is what causes me boredom and that is not the case with this book, I was just bored with the characters. I spent more time wanting to hurt Berry than I did wanting her to make out with Tanner. Adorable, adorable Tanner. Tanner who is witty and sarcastic and my favorite snarky, didn’t play off Berry the way I was hoping for. What really threw me off with this book is the fact it’s called Spies and Prejudice and it is very little like Pride and Prejudice. If I wouldn’t have been told it was supposed to be like Pride and Prejudice would have never gotten that vibe.

Even with my reservations it is a light, cute read. Just not for me this time. Not with my current mindset.