fifth The 5th Wave (The Fifth Wave #1) by Rick Yancey
Release Date: May 7, 2013
Publisher: Putnam Juvenile
Source: Library
Rating: starstarstarblank_starblank_star
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

The Passage meets Ender’s Game in an epic new series from award-winning author Rick Yancey.

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother—or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up. – Goodreads

Review:

I feel like this was the IT book for the first half of 2013. Everyone loved and adored this book. My BFF who rarely buys books bought this book without reading it first because there was so much hype involved in it and so many rave reviews. I wish that this book lived up to its hype, but for me, it did not.

What Yancy did well was create this amazing world where essentially you trust no one. You have no idea who’s good, who’s bad. What Yancy didn’t do well was create characters I could relate to. I didn’t have any feelings for Cassie besides wanting to slap her. And Evan? Creeped me out from the get-go. One review I read stated he was the bad boy girls love to love. I love bad boys. I do not hide that. Book bad boys are my thing, yet from the beginning of being introduced to him I got this extremely weird vibe. Weird vibe + instalove = annoyed Ashley.

Even with being annoyed, this is an extremely quick read. Yancy’s writing shines when the book is discussing Zombie, Sammy and Ringer. I could have read about all three of them and their development all day long. Loved and adored these three, because through their section, they grew. I feel like Cassie and Evan never grew. Plus the aliens? Or whatever they are were never completely fleshed out to the point that they made sense to me. Maybe Yancy will focus more on them in the second book.

While this is a solid book, and I can see the potential, it continues to not be the book, or book series, for me.