11147422Invisibility by Andrea Cremer & David Levithan
Release Date: May 7th 2013
Publisher: Philomel
Source: ARCycling
Rating: DNF
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

Stephen has been invisible for practically his whole life — because of a curse his grandfather, a powerful cursecaster, bestowed on Stephen’s mother before Stephen was born. So when Elizabeth moves to Stephen’s NYC apartment building from Minnesota, no one is more surprised than he is that she can see him. A budding romance ensues, and when Stephen confides in Elizabeth about his predicament, the two of them decide to dive headfirst into the secret world of cursecasters and spellseekers to figure out a way to break the curse. But things don’t go as planned, especially when Stephen’s grandfather arrives in town, taking his anger out on everyone he sees. In the end, Elizabeth and Stephen must decide how big of a sacrifice they’re willing to make for Stephen to become visible — because the answer could mean the difference between life and death. At least for Elizabeth – Goodreads

Review:

I tried. I tried to read this book for three months. That is not a good sign. Finally I decided that I had had enough and I was not going to finish it. Which goes against everything I believe in. It pains me to not finish a book, which I think is why I tried for three months to finish this. At the end of the day I couldn’t care about Stephen or Elizabeth. No really, I couldn’t. It got to the point where I couldn’t remember the characters names or what was going on in the story.

When I read certain books I tend to take notes for when I review later on. Even with notes I couldn’t really figure out what was going on. There was a pivotal point in the novel and I started to skim because I was like “will this ever go on?”

I’m not saying I never skim, I do. But I generally start to skim because I’m so excited I can’t wait to see what happens. This was very much a skim in the sense that I no longer cared and just wanted the book to be done.

Sorry Invisibility, it isn’t you, it’s me.