Two Boys Kissing by David Levithan 17237214
Release Date: August 27, 2013
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Source: ALA 2013
Rating: starstarstarstarblank_star
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

New York Times bestselling author David Levithan tells the based-on-true-events story of Harry and Craig, two 17-year-olds who are about to take part in a 32-hour marathon of kissing to set a new Guinness World Record—all of which is narrated by a Greek Chorus of the generation of gay men lost to AIDS.

While the two increasingly dehydrated and sleep-deprived boys are locking lips, they become a focal point in the lives of other teen boys dealing with languishing long-term relationships, coming out, navigating gender identity, and falling deeper into the digital rabbit hole of gay hookup sites—all while the kissing former couple tries to figure out their own feelings for each other.

This follow-up to the bestselling Every Day showcases David’s trademark sharp-witted, warm-hearted tales of teenage love, and serves as a perfect thematic bookend to David’s YA debut and breakthrough, Boy Meets Boy, which celebrates its 10th anniversary in 2013.– Goodreads

Review:

Levithan has created a game changing masterpiece. This book will make people thrilled and of course this book will make people rage. This is a story with no true happy ending but instead one that has hope. I was lucky enough to grab this at ALA in Chicago and I tried to put this book off as long as possible. I didn’t want to read it for many reasons, but mostly I69113ddafd6d11e2a07422000a1fab83_7 did not want my heart to be ripped out and stomped on and yes. That happened. But what also happened was Levithan mended my heart and gave me so much hope for the future.

This book is told from a chorus of essentially gay angels who died in the 80s/90s of AIDS. While this takes a bit to get used it, it works for the book. It is almost easier to relate to the characters throughout the novel because of the commentary the angels provide. The commentary comes from a place of love and sometimes anger. There is not much in common with any of the boys besides the fact that they are gay and teenagers. Some of the boys’ families took the fact that they are gay fine, they didn’t even blink. Other boys families it tore apart.

It is hard to explain how I spent most of this book wanting to hug them all and tell them it will be okay. It will get better. But it is hard to do that for many reasons. Mostly because it is a book but not even that. I’m a straight woman. Ultimately besides the fact that they are teenagers and I was once a teenager, it is actually very hard for me to relate to them. But Levithan ended up writing a book I wish I could crawl into and hug each and everyone of them. Which is funny for me to say because I am not a hugger. I have a space issue, but I was very much into fucking the space issue and holding every single one of the boys tightly. Including the two standing up kissing for an extremely long time. Mostly because they were exhausted and they dealt with everything from standing up, from peeing, to families, to eggs. I stood for 8 hours at ALA and that was enough for my feet. To stand for 30 hours straight just doing what you do? Bravo, boys.

There is no way to properly review this book. No matter how hard I try, it cannot be done. This book broke my heart, mended my heart, gave me hope and finally changed my life.