13547250Poison (Legacy #2) by Molly Cochran
Release Date: December 4, 2012
Publisher: Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books
Source: Library
Rating: starstarblank_starblank_starblank_star
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

Arthurian legend mixes with modern-day witchcraft in this haunting sequel to Legacy, which Publishers Weekly said “should please the legions of paranormal fans looking for a sophisticated supernatural thriller.” After the riveting—and romantic—events of Legacy, Katy has won Peter’s heart and is now claiming her place in the magical world. Though half the students at her boarding school come from witching lines, the use of magic is expressly forbidden at Ainsworth, so as to keep the witching world hidden from the blue-blooded preppies, aka Muffies, who also walk the halls.

But the Muffies have at least a notion of magic, because Katy catches them staging a made-up ritual—and to her astonishment, the girls collapse at Katy’s feet and fall into comas. When Katy is blamed, she becomes desperate to clear her name and finds herself battling all odds to harness her growing magical powers in order to save the Muffies and dispel the Darkness once more. – Goodreads

Review:

Oh this book series. I am not sure why I continued with it if I’m being honest. With the first book, I decided that it was good but nothing memorable happened. Doesn’t seem like a reason to read the second one, does it? Well, I did, and once again, nothing memorable happened. I was recently discussing this book with a friend and I honestly had no idea what happened or a character’s name. Thankfully I took notes, otherwise this review could be summed up with “:-\” High quality book blogging my co-blogger puts up with over here,

The same group of characters are involved in this story: Katy and Peter and a few new ones. Peter’s uncle and a new BFF for Katy. All four of these characters will annoy you in some shape or form and if they don’t please explain to me why, because oh boy did they make me want to throw this book. Katy is a typical teenager in a YA book, needy and clingy to her boyfriend. Bella from New Moon is that you? Because this book is told from Katy’s point of view, it is clear that she isn’t used to sharing Peter with anyone, including his new found rich uncle who wants to help Peter get into Harvard. According to the headmistress, Katy is the girl that will bring Peter down and this, understandably, affects her. That being said, I’m not saying Peter is innocent. He is a bit of a jack-ass throughout this novel. If this was real life there is no way that this relationship would still be together because it is beyond rocky…at best.

Not only does this cause Katy to essentially lose whatever backbone she has, her new friend, Verity, is, to put it nicely, an asshole. She is self-righteous and it is her way or no way. That affects Katy, as it should any teenager. Hell, I’m in my 20s and I’m finally ridding myself of those people. So I understand it, but in a YA novel, it’s getting to be overdone and frankly I’m getting sick of it.

That is two tropes I’ve had enough of in this book and I was about halfway done. One of the big scenes in this book takes place at what every girl dreams of in high school: the big winter formal. (Please note the sarcasm, I did not count down every minute to the winter formal. I didn’t even go to the winter formal. Tina: wtf is a winter formal anyway? We had homecoming.) Katy doesn’t want to go to the winter formal, but at the beginning of the book Peter talks her into going at least for five minutes and then they’ll get pizza. HAHA. Notice my use of “beginning of the book,” by the middle of the book, after hanging out with his uncle, Peter decides doing his uncle a favor is more important than taking your girlfriend to the dance. I get it, I do.  You want to impress your uncle who will help you get into your dream school, you’re going to help your uncle. At the expense of your girlfriend, who the town already hates.

There is also a bit of a mystery throughout this novel, but the mystery was such a back burner to me in comparison to wanting to throw the book so often. Will I be reading the third book? I think I can safely say that this is one series I will not be finishing. I, too, am shocked.