16074758Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas
Release Date: July 16, 2013
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Source: Library
Rating: starstarstarstarblank_star
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

Paradise quickly gets gruesome in this thrilling page-turner with a plot that’s ripped from the headlines and a twist that defies the imagination.

It’s Spring Break of senior year. Anna, her boyfriend Tate, her best friend Elise, and a few other close friends are off to a debaucherous trip to Aruba that promises to be the time of their lives.

But when Elise is found brutally murdered, Anna finds herself trapped in a country not her own, fighting against vile and contemptuous accusations. As Anna sets out to find her friend’s killer, she discovers harsh revelations about her friendships, the slippery nature of truth, and the ache of young love.

Awaiting the judge’s decree, it becomes clear to Anna that everyone around her thinks she is not only guilty, but also dangerous. And when the whole story comes out, reality is more shocking than anyone ever imagined.. – Goodreads

Review:

I’m not even sure where to start with this review. This book wasn’t on my radar until my friend, GILLYB, reviewed it. By the time I finished her review, I had put it on hold at the local library, picked it up Saturday and finished it by Sunday morning at about two am. It was a quick paced thriller that never slowed down, not once. It is told through transcripts, “before”s and “during”s to the point your brain will hurt, but in a good way.

I spent this entire book hating everyone. The  main character, Anna, Anna’s boyfriend, Anna’s BFF, Elise, the secondary characters. Everyone. I am having problems thinking of one redeeming character because they are all horrible people. I know, if they are so horrible, why did I keep reading? Because I could not put it down. As much as I hated everyone I could not wait to find out what would happen to everyone, and particularly what did happen to Elise.  Haas holds nothing back. The book is gritty, the courtroom is horrible, again the characters are assholes and you will hate them, but you will need to know what happened to them,

A group of kids from a rich private boarding in Boston head to Aruba for a week of partying, drinking, and murder? One night Elise ends up dead and Anna’s life will never be the same. She is in jail, in a foreign country and her boyfriend who is going to love her forever laughs at her and leaves her alone. Which at her age, in her new situation, cuts her to the bone. The thing about Anna is, she isn’t perfect, aspects of her life have sucked, and she can be a shitty friend. But Elise can be a shitty friend, too. It is an interesting dynamic the two of them have with each other which plays throughout the whole book.

And let me tell you, the ending is a doozy. It is a shocker in ways that everyone telling me that it would shock me really wasn’t helpful. Because it ended and I tweeted WHAT WAS THAT and people were like I KNOW. Please pick this book up and freak out with me.