16255191The Stranger (Fjällbacka #4) by Camilla Läckberg
Release Date: May 1st 2013
Publisher: Pegasus Books
Source: Edelweiss
Rating: starstarstarstarblank_star
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

A local woman is killed in a tragic car crash, but it isn’t a clear-cut drunk driving case. The victim’s blood contains high alcohol levels, but she rarely drank a drop. Meanwhile, a reality TV show begins shooting in the town, and as cameras shadow the stars’ every move, tempers start to flare. When a drunken party ends with an unpopular contestant’s murder, all eyes turn to the cast and crew could there be a murderer among them? The ratings spike as the country tunes in to a real life murder mystery. Detective Patrik Hedstrom finds himself increasingly unable to focus on the strange circumstances of the first case, but what if that holds the key to a series of other unsolved cases across Sweden? Under the unforgiving media spotlight, Patrik tackles his toughest investigation yet. – Goodreads

Review:

I can’t remember not reading this series. The reason I did not review the second and the third book after the first is simple. I listened to them on audiobook. No matter what I read/listen to on audio it is next to impossible for me to review it. For various reasons, the biggest one is I have no idea how to spell the names and locations. I can pronounce them, but I cannot spell them. When I listened to White Cat, and then when I talked to Tina about it, she was like “who are you talking about?!” Because my spelling and the way that they were actually spelled were SO off.

That being said when I was able to get an ARC of The Stranger, I jumped on it! This is a follow up to the previous three novels; however, as always, it could be read as a stand alone. Patrik Hedstrom is handling not only a complex murder, but his upcoming wedding to Erika. Erika, who is fighting her own battles in the name of her sister who is fighting a deep depression. This is not a simple book, Läckberg’s books never are. But while you’re involved in a mystery, you’re also involved in more than that. There is worry about Erika’s sister, and Erika who is worried about losing the last of the baby weight before the wedding, there is Patrick, who can’t shake the case even though he would rather focus on Erika and the baby.

What Läckberg always excels at is making a complex story that never really makes sense until the very end when the lightbulb goes off on the top of your head and you’re like “duh! OF COURSE.” I loved and adored this book. Much like the previous books it strings you along and makes you feel things that you weren’t expecting and then it ends and you have that sliver of hope in you for the future of this series.