boyBoy Meets Boy by David Levithan
Release Date: September 9th 2003
Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf
Source: Personal Copy
Rating: starstarstarblank_starblank_star
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

This is the story of Paul, a sophomore at a high school like no other: The cheerleaders ride Harleys, the homecoming queen used to be a guy named Daryl (she now prefers Infinite Darlene and is also the star quarterback), and the gay-straight alliance was formed to help the straight kids learn how to dance.

When Paul meets Noah, he thinks he’s found the one his heart is made for. Until he blows it. The school bookie says the odds are 12-to-1 against him getting Noah back, but Paul’s not giving up without playing his love really loud. His best friend Joni might be drifting away, his other best friend Tony might be dealing with ultra-religious parents, and his ex-boyfriend Kyle might not be going away anytime soon, but sometimes everything needs to fall apart before it can really fit together right.

This is a happy-meaningful romantic comedy about finding love, losing love, and doing what it takes to get love back in a crazy-wonderful world. – Goodreads

Review:

I have finally decided to stop reading ARCs and read books I own. I know, crazy times! Tina? Do you still know me?

While I’ve had this book on my shelf for awhile, it did not dawn on me to read this until recently. Maybe it is because I recently met Levithan. Maybe it is because I’m finally in the mood. Who knows. What I do know is how much I love and enjoyed this book.

Boy Meets Boy is the story of Paul, a typical middle-class teen who lives in the burbs and is falling in love. That is, to me, the heart of the novel. Of course the fact that Paul is gay doesn’t really change anything. Which was nice. This was a true romantic love story between two boys.  Paul has a shit ex that he doesn’t want to deal with because he still causes Paul to have feelings. There is the new guy, Noah, who Paul knows has stolen is heart. But when the whole world is against you it seems do you have a chance?

Through amazing humor and characters, Levithan takes the reader on an extremely sweet love story. Because again, at the core of the novel, that is what it is about: falling in love.

Oh David Levithan, how I love and adore you. I know, I’m late to the game. But oh how I’m thrilled to be part of his madness. Levithan writes in such a way, that I as a teenager, would have loved and adored. Don’t get me wrong, I love and adore it now. But I think it would have touched me in a special way when I was younger. I can’t wait to read more from him.