fireThe Girl of Fire and Thorns (Fire and Thorns #1) by Rae Carson
Release Date: September 20, 2011
Publisher: Greenwillow
Source: Personal Copy
Rating: starstarstarstarblank_star
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

Once a century, one person is chosen for greatness.
Elisa is the chosen one.

But she is also the younger of two princesses, the one who has never done anything remarkable. She can’t see how she ever will.

Now, on her sixteenth birthday, she has become the secret wife of a handsome and worldly king—a king whose country is in turmoil. A king who needs the chosen one, not a failure of a princess.

And he’s not the only one who seeks her. Savage enemies seething with dark magic are hunting her. A daring, determined revolutionary thinks she could be his people’s savior. And he looks at her in a way that no man has ever looked at her before. Soon it is not just her life, but her very heart that is at stake.

Elisa could be everything to those who need her most. If the prophecy is fulfilled. If she finds the power deep within herself. If she doesn’t die young.

Most of the chosen do. – Goodreads

Review:

Yes. I have already reviewed this book once before, on goodreads. It was quick and to the point, very much like “I get why this book has rave reviews. It is not for me…” Because most high fantasy is not for me.

But here’s the thing. I saw Rae Carson speak at the Keynote at YALLfest and I had to give this book another shot. There had to be something I was missing. And that is when I figured it out. High fantasy is my thing when I’m on vacation or on a plane. Who knew?!

I was sucked in. Could not put it down and read any of the other books in my bag sucked in. See the photo to the right of the bag of books I was carrying on the plane. My name is Ashley and I am cheap for shipping. Plus they were autographed. Back to Carson and The Girl of Fire and Thorns. I was sucked in. Heck, I’m still sucked in. Mostly annoyed that I put the second book in a box to be shipped home and now I have to wait. I NEED TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS. And it is high fantasy?! Tina is doing the contemporary books, I’m doing fantasy. ALL SORTS OF CONFUSION AROUND HERE.

All that was said, because you know what. I really, really enjoyed The Girl of Fire and Thorns. (Also enjoyed the girl in the airport thinking  I was reading A Song of Ice and Fire..HAHA. No.) I loved that Elisa is a strong girl. She is not the “typical” YA heroine, and I must have overlooked that last time. How, I don’t know, because Carson writes so well that this time I couldn’t stop turning the pages to see what happened to Elisa. Things I remember bothering me the first time I read it no longer bother me. I was enthralled. I cared about Elisa and her growth. And Carson writes her in such a way that her growth needed to happen, not for a boy, or her father, or anyone but for herself. And to have a chachter be a strong woman in that way was awesome to me as a reader.

I cannot wait to see where Elisa’s path of greatness goes in The Crown of Embers. WHERE ARE YOU BOX?! WHERE ARE YOU?!