17829789Virals (Virals #1) by Kathy Reichs and Brendan Reichs
Release Date: August 23, 2011
Publisher: Razorbill
Source: Personal copy
Rating: starstarstarblank_starblank_star
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

Adventure is in Tory Brennan’s blood. After all, she’s the grandniece of world-famous forensic anthropologist Temperance Brennan. Always up for a challenge, Tory and her science-geek friends spend their time exploring the marshlands of Loggerhead Island, home to the very off-limits Loggerhead Island Research Institute, where something strange is going on. After rescuing a stray wolfdog pup from a top-secret lab, Tory and her friends are exposed to a rare strain of canine parvovirus, changing them–and their DNA–forever. Now they are more than friends. They are a pack. They are Virals. And they’re dangerous to the core. But are they unstoppable enough to catch a cold-blooded murderer? – Goodreads

Review:

While I’m a huge fan of the show Bones I have not read Kathy Reichs’ series about Temperance Brennan mostly because science has never been my thing. Liberal arts major over here! But! My BFFSarah has. Sarah read them in the basement of the student union during undergrad and continuously freaked out when anyone would say hi to her. If I never review again, assumed she killed me for telling that story.

Sarah did however give me the okay for this series. She told me forever ago that it was more me than the “adult” series, but my TBR list being what it is, it never happened. And then I went to YALLfest and saw Brendan Reichs do things he would rather forget and then I knew I had to read the series. Yes, sometimes authors do help me adjust my TBR list.

This is a thick book, not necessarily in size, but in information. The co-authors do not dumb anything down for the younger audience and there is a solid 200 pages of plot and an information dump, which of course, thankfully didn’t feel like an info dump to a point.  I mean, I still know an info dump when I see one. That being said, this felt like an adult book that was marketed to the YA audience. Tori spoke like a 30 year old. While she skipped a grade, she didn’t skip being a teenager. I understand not all teens talk a certain way, but this did not seem authentic. It felt like a 40 year old in the body of a 14 year old (and that is being said by a 80 year old in the body of a 25 year old.)

This is the story of Tori, Tempe’s grandniece, is extremely smart and confident and I love that about a YA character. Tori lives near Charleston, South Carolina with her new found father, since her mother’s passing. I need to say that Charleston works for this story. I felt like I was in Charleston while reading this. The authors made Charleston work for this novel, plus the feature of two maps was extremely helpful and awesome. (I’m a huge huge map person. Tina, who along with being my friend is my facebook friend, is laughing because my facebook is often LOOK AT THIS MAP GUYS. MAAAAAAAAAAAAP.)

So Tori, lives on this island near Charleston with her father and her best friend Hi. Hi and her go to the local high school where they are looked down upon for being “island people” and the stigma that comes with it. Along with this stigma, Tori must face her father’s girlfriend and the COTILLION world that comes with her. Because nothing screams “THIS WILL MAKE YOU FIT IN” quite like a cotillion does (Southern United States or not.) That aside Tori and her friends run into a fit of supernatural trouble and a murder mystery that didn’t completely work for me. Murder mystery? Yes. The supernatural bit..ehhhh.

I did however enjoy the novel, even if it shocked me at a point which involved me sending CAPLOCKS BECAUSE HOW..HOW DID THIS BOOK SHOCK ME. But it did. I’m not necessarily dying to read the next book in the series, but I am interested in what happens to the characters.