17159009Never Have I Ever by Katie Heaney
Release Date: January 14, 2014
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Source: Library
Rating: starstarstarstarblank_star
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

“I’ve been single for my entire life. Not one boyfriend. Not one short-term dating situation. Not one person with whom I regularly hung out and kissed on the face.”

So begins Katie Heaney’s memoir of her years spent looking for love, but never quite finding it. By age 25, equipped with a college degree, a load of friends, and a happy family life, she still has never had a boyfriend … and she’s barely even been on a second date.

Throughout this laugh-out-loud funny book, you will meet Katie’s loyal group of girlfriends, including flirtatious and outgoing Rylee, the wild child to Katie’s shrinking violet, as well as a whole roster of Katie’s ill-fated crushes. And you will get to know Katie herself — a smart, modern heroine relaying truths about everything from the subtleties of a Facebook message exchange to the fact that “Everybody who works in a coffee shop is at least a little bit hot.”

Funny, relatable, and inspiring, this is a memoir for anyone who has ever struggled to find love, but has also had a lot of fun in the process. – Goodreads

Review:
Honesty time: I have never been on a date. And I turn 26 in May. And I don’t care.

This helped me relate to Heaney on a level that many seem to have issue with. It’s not that I’m purposely out there going I DON’T WANT TO DATE. But I’m also okay staying at home with no pants on and massive amounts of TV. I’m also not against marriage. My parents have been married for 30 years later this month. Most of my friends are married or engaged and I like most of their significant others. There is one I want to poke in the eyes, but that is probably more me than him. (It’s totally him.)

I had crushes like Heaney, and have a best friend like Rylee. Well not exactly like Rylee, because there can only be one Rylee. But I have that best friend who I could be 2,000 miles away from and still feel like I’m sitting in her living f39df464912b11e3a6c812b4d37167a9_8room, at home. I’m actually lucky, I have a few in my core group that mean the world to me.

All of that being said, I understand that Heaney is not relatable to everyone. They aren’t going to understand her need for lists and overthinking and the sarcasm. It’s hard though for me to review this book without bringing up the face when I posted a photo on instagram the comments I got where interesting. Most times I post what I read and no one says anything because, well, I read “normal” books. It’s very interesting for me to read a hot button topic. It then became harder for me when I related to the book as much as I did. That being said, I understand that this book is far from perfect. If you aren’t around my age a lot of the references won’t touch your heart the same way. Looking at you N’SYNC reference, JTT and Teen Beat. Oh the gel roll pens. I’m not saying people older or younger won’t get it, as Heaney is 2/3 years older than me. But I can get the gap growing and the side eye that occurs.

I’m also not telling you about the fact I haven’t dated anyone and the fact I more or less don’t care because does part of me? Probably. Do I care enough to put more effort into my dating life? HAHAH. No. And that’s part of why I liked Heaney. She did care to put effort into online dating websites, but she didn’t care that she didn’t find her dream man, because she knows she’s going to be okay in the end because she’s surrounded by a good group of friends who also don’t care that she has never dated.