15792316Split Second (Pivot Point #2) by Kasie West
Release Date: February 11, 2014
Publisher: HarperTeen
Source: ALAMW2014
Rating: starstarstarstarstar
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

Life can change in a split second.

Addie hardly recognizes her life since her parents divorced. Her boyfriend used her. Her best friend betrayed her. She can’t believe this is the future she chose. On top of that, her ability is acting up. She’s always been able to Search the future when presented with a choice. Now she can manipulate and slow down time, too . . . but not without a price.

When Addie’s dad invites her to spend her winter break with him, she jumps at the chance to escape into the Norm world of Dallas, Texas. There she meets the handsome and achingly familiar Trevor. He’s a virtual stranger to her, so why does her heart do a funny flip every time she sees him? But after witnessing secrets that were supposed to stay hidden, Trevor quickly seems more suspicious of Addie than interested in her. And she has an inexplicable desire to change that.

Meanwhile, her best friend, Laila, has a secret of her own: she can restore Addie’s memories . . . once she learns how. But there are powerful people who don’t want to see this happen. Desperate, Laila tries to manipulate Connor, a brooding bad boy from school—but he seems to be the only boy in the Compound immune to her charms. And the only one who can help her.

As Addie and Laila frantically attempt to retrieve the lost memories, Addie must piece together a world she thought she knew before she loses the love she nearly forgot . . . and a future that could change everything– Goodreads

Review: Please Note. While West and the blogger are friends this has no relation on the review. Because West would not approve of that madness.

Last year I read, and reviewed, Pivot Point and later in the year I had the chance to meet West and fall in love with her as a person and a friend and not just as an author, and I’m not saying this because she’s my friend, but I will read anything she writes. And the likelihood is I will devour it. She’s one of the few authors that can make me cry. I’m an easy crier. I cry at the drop of a hat, but books generally don’t make me cry. That is the power that West can convey via the written word. That is a powerful tool, in my opinion.

I loved Split Second. I was shocked to find out I loved it as much as I did. While Pivot Point was amazing, I found it to be a standalone to the point I was shocked find out there would be a second book. Even with the shock, I was not disappointed. Split Second is everything I expect from a Kasie West novel, and more.

Told from dual point of views: Addie, who we know and love and her BFF Laila. Dual POV does not always work. To me, it rarely works.  But it was fascinating to see Addie learn things that we already knew about her and those around her. But West never once info dumped us. She made it nice and refreshing while rehashing information that was in the first book. It was also fascinating to see Laila and learn more about her. In Pivot Point we only ever see Laila from Addie’s point of view and we know how skewed that can be. My BFF and I can go to an event and have two very different views on what happened. Her’s usually involves her having a blast and me having a panic attack because omg a lot of people.

Although I am a big, big, big Addie fan, I was super fascinated by Laila’s side. Her life wasn’t picture perfect or easy and a lot of aspects sucked. Heck, I wouldn’t even mind more from Laila. But let’s talk about the important part of this novel. Trevor.

Trevor. Hearts in my eyes. Trevor. He’s snarky and he doesn’t always know what’s going on but oh did I fall in love with him again. My heart died a bit when him and Addie fell in love with each other again, because it was heartbreaking and lovely and made me sigh multiple times. This book even did that thing where it I want more. I want to know more about the Compound and their abilities and I JUST WANT MORE.