16081202Open Road Summer by Emery Lord
Release Date: April 15, 2014
Publisher: Walker
Source: ALAMW2014
Rating: starstarstarstarstar
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

After breaking up with her bad-news boyfriend, Reagan O’Neill is ready to leave her rebellious ways behind. . . and her best friend, country superstar Lilah Montgomery, is nursing a broken heart of her own. Fortunately, Lilah’s 24-city tour is about to kick off, offering a perfect opportunity for a girls-only summer of break-up ballads and healing hearts. But when Matt Finch joins the tour as its opening act, his boy-next-door charm proves difficult for Reagan to resist, despite her vow to live a drama-free existence. This summer, Reagan and Lilah will navigate the ups and downs of fame and friendship as they come to see that giving your heart to the right person is always a risk worth taking. A fresh new voice in contemporary romance, Emery Lord’s gorgeous writing hits all the right notes. – Goodreads

Review:

No review of this will give this book justice. It is important I state that right away because this book gave me all the ericafeels. I’m not even joking. When I finished this book I proceeded to email my friend the following. That was it. No “hi.” No “bye.” Just feeeels. To be fair, this friend did recommend this book to me, and knew I was reading it but that was the whole email to her because, and I still agree, it sums up Open Road Summer extremely well.

284cfbcea1a811e3a8af0e0b4f6d16dc_8

This is the story of Reagan, who happens to be BFFs with Lilah, the hottest pop country singer of the moment and Lilah’s summer tour. Lilah is known for her squeaky clean image and her heart being in her music. Lilah has been there for Reagan and Reagan is always there for Lilah. Here’s what I loved about this book (besides everything): Reagan is a flawed person and owns the fact she’s flawed. She has had run-ins with the law, her best friend leaves her for most of the year, her mother left her and she doesn’t get along with her step-mother at all because her and her father were fine on their own.

When Reagan has the chance to tour with Lilah and become a better person Reagan, and her cast leg jump at the chance. What Reagan doesn’t see coming is the fact that Lilah’s image takes a hit and the record label asks musician, and Lilah’s friend to come along, be the opener and be her “fake” boyfriend. Matt Finch, all the hearts in my eyes for you. Matt used to be part of a boyband with his family, and he is trying to branch out and be himself, and oh how he is himself. Because Reagan is used to the bad boys in her life, she doesn’t know what to. Matt is nothing that she expected or is even used to. She also is very blunt and to the point and that makes him laugh. Often.

Between the love story and the story of friendship, and growth, Lord’s writing shines. I finished this book and after my email freak out I wanted to open it again and start again. I wanted to be friends with these characters and tell them everything will be okay. Even though I didn’t know. They were that real to me. They’re all messy, they’re not perfect, there is anger, and hurt, and stubborn characters who are a wee bit sarcastic that I may have related to and mean words and the ending wasn’t wrapped in a neat perfect bow. do with Matt, but slowly Matt finds himself a place in Reagan’s heart.

That lack of a neat perfect bow slowly did kill me though, because the only thing I want is to know more between Lilah and her first love. And even Matt and Reagan. Will they be okay? WHAT HAPPENS?! I understand that open end ending are nice and they have their place, but I want to make sure they’ll be okay forever. Who knew I was such a romantic? I promise, I do understand that this is a YA novel and it had to end at some point, but really I wanted it to never end.