11389398Friends with Boys by Faith Erin Hicks
Release Date: Feburary 28, 2012
Publisher: First Second
Source: Library
Rating: starstarstarstarblank_star
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

After years of homeschooling, Maggie is starting high school. It’s pretty terrifying.

Maggie’s big brothers are there to watch her back, but ever since Mom left it just hasn’t been the same.

Besides her brothers, Maggie’s never had any real friends before. Lucy and Alistair don’t have lots of friends either. But they eat lunch with her at school and bring her along on their small-town adventures.

Missing mothers…distant brothers…high school…new friends… It’s a lot to deal with. But there’s just one more thing.

MAGGIE IS HAUNTED. – Goodreads

Review:

A graphic novel review from me?! I know, I too am shocked. But this is a solid graphic novel and I wish I read it sooner. Friends with Boys is the story of Maggie, a girl who was home schooled most of her life until one day her mother left and her father decided it would be for the best if Maggie went to public school, like her older brothers do. But Maggie doesn’t want to go to high school. She is fine being home schooled, it’s comfortable, it is what she knows.

Even if you’ve never been home schooled, and I have never been home schooled, I know what it’s like to be comfortable and hate change. I’m almost 26 and have pain with change. Yes, I’m super fun to hang out with, no reason to ask.  Maggie’s father knows she will be fine, she has her brothers and it’s just high school.

The thing though is Maggie’s brothers are busy leading their own lives, they are there for her, but they can’t be her BFFs, and they aren’t. Through a growth period and finding other “misfits” she finds who she fits in with, they get her, and they are okay with the fact that, yes, Maggie is haunted.

This graphic novel had a lot of things I enjoyed. There was family love, there was friendships, and a love interest who wasn’t really a love interest, but really, just a friend. Through a period of her life, we follow Maggie and essentially a growth period in her life. She finds friends, she finds herself and finds her happiness. There were a few open ended things that I wanted to know, but I also know that life is open ended.