18189606Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson
Release Date: May 6, 2014
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Source: ALAMW2014
Rating: starstarstarstarstar
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

The Pre-Sloane Emily didn’t go to parties, she barely talked to guys, she didn’t do anything crazy. Enter Sloane, social tornado and the best kind of best friend—the one who yanks you out of your shell.But right before what should have been an epic summer, Sloane just… disappears. No note. No calls. No texts. No Sloane. There’s just a random to-do list. On it, thirteen Sloane-selected-definitely-bizarre-tasks that Emily would never try… unless they could lead back to her best friend. Apple Picking at Night? Ok, easy enough.Dance until Dawn? Sure. Why not? Kiss a Stranger? Wait… what?

Getting through Sloane’s list would mean a lot of firsts. But Emily has this whole unexpected summer ahead of her, and the help of Frank Porter (totally unexpected) to check things off. Who knows what she’ll find?

Go Skinny Dipping? Um… – Goodreads

Review:

4.5 rounding up to 5. 

What do you do when  you are only know as someone’s best friend? That is Emily’s life. She is not known as someone’s boyfriend, but someone’s best friend. Which is an awesome twist on usual trend of “only known as someone’s girlfriend and we’ve broken up. HOW SHALL MY LIFE GO ON.” Since You’ve Been Gone opens when Emily wonders where Sloane went. Sloane disappeared in the middle of the night and Emily is waiting for her to come back. While waiting for her to come back, Emily receives a letter in the mail from Sloane full of things she should do.

Emily is convinced if she completes this crazy list, Sloane will come back. She wants her BFF back. But this book is more than that. This book is full of growth and what it means to be yourself, your true self, when your daredevil of a best friend isn’t pushing you into things. As much as this book is nothing like my relationship with my BFF. Or any of my close friends. I don’t hang with daredevils. I hang with people who push me out of my comfort zones, but they also respect when they look at my face and see the panic attack coming.

Emily spends the entire book growing, and it is awesome to see. She gains a new group of friends: Dawn, Frank, Matthew. Three people who do the crazy things with her, but also call her on things when she needs it. Which is what friends do. Matson, was also able to have the friendships grow organically. Nothing felt forced or caused me great pain while reading. I also, always appreciate a Mumford and Sons reference. (Shocking. I know.)

I devoured this book in about a day. The only reason it took me that long was the fact I had to go to work for 9 hours. Matson’s Since You’ve Been Gone is strong. And I cannot wait to see what is from her next if it makes me feel anything how Since You’ve Been Gone made me feel, it will be an amazing book.