18051352To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before (To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before #1) by Jenny Han
Release Date: April 15, 2014
Publisher:  Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Source: ALAMW2014
Rating: starstarstarblank_starblank_star
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

Lara Jean’s love life goes from imaginary to out of control in this heartfelt novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Summer I Turned Pretty series.

What if all the crushes you ever had found out how you felt about them… all at once?

Lara Jean Song keeps her love letters in a hatbox her mother gave her. They aren’t love letters that anyone else wrote for her; these are ones she’s written. One for every boy she’s ever loved—five in all. When she writes, she pours out her heart and soul and says all the things she would never say in real life, because her letters are for her eyes only. Until the day her secret letters are mailed, and suddenly, Lara Jean’s love life goes from imaginary to out of control. – Goodreads

Review:

I went into this book with fairly high hopes, and I spent most of the book disappointed.  Lara Jean is a normal American teenager who has two sisters and a dad. Her mother died a few years ago in a freak accident and from that very moment, her older sister took on the role of mother and Lara Jean just kind of floated. She has spent most of her teenage life in love with her older sister’s boyfriend, Josh, to the point she wrote him a letter. A letter to let go of him. She has done it five times total and it is what makes her and her heart free.

What happens of course is those five letters get sent and those five boys now all know things they are not supposed to know. One of those boys in Peter, who becomes a key player throughout the novel. No one really seems to like Peter. He’s cocky and that puts off people, including Josh.  Lara Jean and Peter however get along, they even get along after Lara Jean’s letter to Peter gets sent and he reads it.

This letter causes them to make a fake a relationship to make Josh jealous and Peter’s ex jealous. Of course, over time they slowly begin to have feelings for each other. The problem is, I never believed it. I never really believed the relationship between Lara Jean and Peter or even Lara Jean and Josh. What also bothered me is Lara Jean seems to have one female friend outside of her friendship with her sisters and it is made very clear multiple times that Chris, the female friend, is a huge slut and an overall horrible human being.

Most of this book I had this giant shaking rage over what was going on. It took about 80% of the book for me to slow down and breathe and start to enjoy the book, but by then I was too annoyed to really care. While it is still a solid book, and I enjoyed it. The problematic aspects of it, to me, made it hard for me to truly enjoy. I spent more of the book wanting to slap Lara Jean than be her friend. I understand that is not something that is required to enjoy a book, but at this time in my life, it made it hard to really ultimately enjoy.