18599709Vivian Divine Is Dead by Lauren Sabel
Release Date: June 3, 2014
Publisher: Walker Childrens
Source: ALAMW2014
Rating: starstarblank_starblank_starblank_star
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

In this fast-paced adventure set in Mexico, teen celebrity Vivian Divine goes on the run after receiving a death threat, and discovers that everything she thought she knew about her charmed life—and the boy she loves—is a lie. – Goodreads

Review:

 This book ultimately had very little going for it, and I was super excited to read it. As in, I read it months before I should have because I was so excited to read it, and then halfway through it, I just stopped caring. Vivian Divine is an A list teen actor who has everything, including two famous parents and a teen heartthrob for a boyfriend. 

Then her mother dies, her father is on the verge of suicide, and her boyfriend cheats on her…with her BFF. There were many cliches throughout this novel, including three I just mentioned. Because she had a fairly cushy life the fact she finds her life threatened scares her, because doesn’t everyone love her? She ends up going to Mexico to find who is after her, and in Mexico she finds Nick. Nick is from Mexico, has had a truly hard life, and has no clue who she is. He calls her princess, because she is spoiled and can barely function. No really, she has problems doing anything without being told. Then, in the blink of an eye she falls in love with Nick. Nick, who I swear she hated one page before.

This was one of those books that went from boredom to quick pace fairly fast. I spent 90% of the novel bored out of my mind and the last 10% unable to put it down. Of course by then it was too late because I was too annoyed. There are a few twists and turns that I, unfortunately, did see coming. What I did not see coming was that this seems to be a stand alone and the ending is fairly cliffhanger-ish. While I went into this book wanting to love it, I ultimately was bored and had problems slogging through it; however, I did enjoy it by the end, I no longer wanted to slap Vivian Divine.