In a weird turn of event, I started to DNF books this year. Because of that, I am going to do a round up this month, because maybe you read one and enjoyed one and could tell me WHAT DID I MISSSS?!

21221953Never Mind the Bullocks: One Girl’s 10,000 km Adventure around India in the World’s Cheapest Car by Vanessa Able
Release Date: September 1, 2014
Publisher: Nicholas Brealey Publishing
Source: Edelweiss

Reason: DNF at 44%.

I was bored. Didn’t care. Found her to have clear white views on an Eastern country and not owning those views.  Dude, you’re a wealthy white woman in a third world country, you had to know things wouldn’t be perfect and while the writing was strong, I was too annoyed to continue on.

 

Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld
Release Date: September 24, 2014
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Source: Edelweiss

Review: DNF at 34%.

I may come back to later. Bored and don’t care. While I was interested in it and everyone in my life seemed to love and adore it, I could not get into it. Afterworlds is two books in one and I struggled to get into both of them. I felt Darcy acted like an idiot (she is a teenager) and the story Darcy wrote never grabbed me.