16172634Faking It (Losing It #2) by Cora Carmack
Release Date: June 4, 2013
Publisher: William Morrow & Company
Source: Personal Copy
Rating: starstarstarblank_starblank_star (3.5)
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

Mackenzie “Max” Miller has a problem. Her parents have arrived in town for a surprise visit, and if they see her dyed hair, tattoos, and piercings, they just might disown her. Even worse, they’re expecting to meet a nice, wholesome boyfriend, not a guy named Mace who has a neck tattoo and plays in a band. All her lies are about to come crashing down around her, but then she meets Cade.

Cade moved to Philadelphia to act and to leave his problems behind in Texas. So far though, he’s kept the problems and had very little opportunity to take the stage. When Max approaches him in a coffee shop with a crazy request to pretend to be her boyfriend, he agrees to play the part. But when Cade plays the role a little too well, they’re forced to keep the ruse going. And the more they fake the relationship, the more real it begins to feel – Goodreads

Review:

Hi. My name is Ashley and I loathe the phrase “new adult.” It is like nails on a chalkboard to me. Everyone has words or phrases they hate, for most people I know, it’s “moist.” Maybe it’s because I shelved at a public library for four years, maybe it is because I just find the label silly, but I loathe it. Because of this, I ignored the genre. I appreciated what it was doing to the book community and readers in general, but I just didn’t get the label. I understand how silly that is, as a reader and librarian I get it. Trust me. I judged myself.

Then I started to clean out my bookshelves and I found this behind a few books. I won it in a contest awhile ago and never had a chance to read it, because my name is Ashley and my bookshelves are out of control.

I devoured Faking It in 24 hours. It was a quick, realistic read that did have me wanting more.

Max believes she’s bad news. And Cade’s nickname is “Golden Boy” but this story quickly becomes far more than that. Told from alternating POVs, we see that both Max and Cade have their own fucked up backstories but with each other they can overcome their pasts, but more importantly they can grow and overcome things by themselves. This was a book of not only about love, which it clearly was, but also growth. They didn’t need each other. Yes, they are obviously better with each other, but there is a point in this book that they aren’t together (spoiler: it’s a romance novel. These things happen) and the two characters continue to grow without each other. As a reader it was amazing to see that although they bring out the best in each other, they are also still their own person.

At the beginning of the novel Max was hiding herself from her parents as she believed it was for the best and Cade was in love with his best friend. By the end of the novel, there was such realistic growth between the characters that I believed in their love story and them. What the main problem between Cade and Max was a lack of communication, which is the main problem between most book characters I’ve read lately, if I’m being honest. The alternating POVs really helped to drive this point home, also. That if they would just talk there would be less misunderstanding. The reader is able to see where both Max and Cade are coming from even if the other in the story doesn’t understand because they are far too hurt to even begin to comprehend.

I feel that this was a good first story to start with while reading the NA genre. Although it’s the second book in a series, you do not need to read the first book to understand this. It’s more of a companion story than a sequel which is always a bonus in my opinion.