20309175My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories by Stephanie Perkins
Release Date: October 14, 2014
Publisher: St. Martin’s Press
Source: Edelweiss
Rating: starstarstarstarstar
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

If you love holiday stories, holiday movies, made-for-TV-holiday specials, holiday episodes of your favorite sitcoms and, especially, if you love holiday anthologies, you’re going to fall in love with MY TRUE LOVE GAVE TO ME: TWELVE HOLIDAY STORIES by twelve bestselling young adult writers, edited by international bestselling author Stephanie Perkins.– Goodreads

Review:

I’m not sure I can put my feelings about this book into words. It was beyond perfect. Legit hearts in my eyes and longing for Christmas/Holiday season and I read this in the middle of the Arizona summer when it was 110+ out. Every single one of the stories, in it’s own way was perfect and made me so happy.

Each story is a stand alone in it’s own little world, but in a short period of time authors that range from Rainbow Rowell to Holly Black to Laini Taylor put you in this small holiday world and remind you the about the hope and love that is involved with December.  December always has a magical feel about it, even though I live in Arizona where Christmas day tends to be 70 degrees, there is still a magical feel about the holiday season. All holidays too, not just Christmas! Some of the stories will break your heart, but also, at the same time, they will fill it up and remind you about hope and love. True love.

And that is coming from someone with a cold bitter black heart.

What Stephanie Perkins did was, in my opinion, genius. She grabbed friends of hers who are well known authors and they all wrote short stories. While not every short story worked for me, in my opinion, they all worked together even though they were all standalone. I know, you’re like “Ashley, that makes no sense.” But read the book and it will! And you too will have hearts in your eyes.