I spent this past month reading a lot of books in the New Adult genre. So, so, so many books in the New Adult genre. My theory was if I read a lot of it, it would start to get good, right? You know what the answer to that is: No. It doesn’t get any better. The genre does have it’s highs, but it has a lot of lows. SO many lows. I spent most of this month texting a handful of friends about how the genre was not working for me. I wanted to make it work. tentharemI tried to make it work. It never really worked for me. And I need to thank Jen, Renae, Lauren and Erica for letting me talk through my New Adult feels and figuring out why the books never really worked for me.

They seemed to not work for me for various reasons.

  1. So much of it seems like Twilight fanfiction that was pulled to print.
  2. It’s all bad boy, good innocent girl who fix each other.
  3. I read New Adult when I was 11 and it was called…wait for it..romance.
  4. The covers. I know I’m not supposed to judge books by their covers, but when you shelf books for 4+ years, you start to judge.
  5. One is always broken and the other will always save them.

I’m having problems finding why New Adult exists when we already had a romance section. As someone who shelved at a public library for four years it hurts my head even more to think about where to shelf New Adult. I wanted to love this genre, it has the makings of everything I love and adored and I couldn’t make it work. I do have a select few books that did work with me. Shout out to Lauren for giving me recommendations that did work when I was drowning in the NA pool and hated my life.

Lists I based my searches off of when I started this…journey? Mess? Cluster? Worrisome things about these lists? How no one really knows what’s NA and what’s YA. Also how many of them are on my self of “no thank you.”

  1. New Adult Literature
  2. New Adult 2013
  3. 2013 New Adult Releases
  4. Best YA/New Adult Contemporary Romance
  5. 10 New Adult Romance Books You Should Read

The awesome thing about these five lists is there was a giant overlap and I tried to tackle that overlap, I mean if they are the best then those are the ones I should love! Yeahhhhh. No.

Books that did not work for me during this journey.

  1. Come to Me by A.L. Jackson: Let’s just go with no.
  2. Tangled by Emma Chase: This had to be fanfic. HAD TO BE. DO NOT TELL ME OTHERWISE.
  3. Running Back by Allison Parr: Not as good at the first book, which I read last year and have no memory of. (Thank you review!) While I think it is a solid contribution to the NA genre, the book bored me and I wanted to believe that they fell in love. I did not.
  4. The Vincent Brothers by Abbi Glines: No. No. No. How many POVs does one need?!
  5. Just for Now (Sea Breeze #4) by Abbi Glines: I gave it 2.5 stars. There was nothing about this story that jumped out to me as special. Shouting from the roof tops THIS IS THE ONE. And while I appreciate dual POVs. I would appreciate it more if I hadn’t read a lot of dual POVs in this genre.
  6. Finding Cinderella by Colleen Hoover: Nope. Nope. Nope.

Books that were fine, but I didn’t feel comfortable reviewing:

Books that did work for me during this journey, or worked enough I felt okay reviewing.

I am glad that the genre exists and that people are reading because of it. But after this month of nothing but NA, I have to say, I still don’t get it. And you know what? I’m fine with that. I am glad I tried it and I read books I thought I never would.