20300486The Countess Conspiracy (Brothers Sinister #3) by Courtney Milan
Release Date: December 16, 2013
Publisher: Courtney Milan
Source: Library
Rating: starstarstarstarblank_star
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

Sebastian Malheur is the most dangerous sort of rake: an educated one. When he’s not scandalizing ladies in the bedchamber, he’s outraging proper society with his scientific theories. He’s desired, reviled, acclaimed, and despised—and he laughs through it all.

Violet Waterfield, the widowed Countess of Cambury, on the other hand, is entirely respectable, and she’d like to stay that way. But Violet has a secret that is beyond ruinous, one that ties her irrevocably to England’s most infamous scoundrel: Sebastian’s theories aren’t his. They’re hers.

So when Sebastian threatens to dissolve their years-long conspiracy, she’ll do anything to save their partnership…even if it means opening her vulnerable heart to the rake who could destroy it for good.. – Goodreads

Review:

It seems this series has officially owned my heart; it has gotten to the point when I have to put the next on hold at the library I get stabby. WHAT DO YOU MEAN IT ISN’T READILY AVAILABLE?! This book was no different than the previous books in the novel. It stole my heart and made me have feels I didn’t know I could face. While we’ve been Sebastian and Violet in the previous novels, it was nice to see them have their own.

From the previous novels we’re aware that Violet is known in society and Sebastian is the hilarious joker always making people laugh. In the The Countess Conspiracy, Sebastian spends most of the novel serious. I wasn’t aware he could be serious to the point it was nice to see this side of him! In all honesty this is a very serious book. Sebastian is being an adult and trying to convince his brother to trust him, the love of his life to trust him all while not kissing the love of his life. The love of his life is of course Violet. He’s been in love with her since they were five and have been best friends since then. In the mean time though, Violet has gotten married, miscarried nineteen times, and has since become a widow. Her mother is known for publishing pieces about proper ladies and Violet has a secret.

While Sebastian has gone around town and been known for publishing famous scientific theories, they aren’t actually his theories. They are Violet’s and he can’t live the lie anymore. While she tries to talk him into keeping up the charade, he just can’t anymore.

I meant what I said: I’m done telling lies for you. I don’t like the person I’m becoming.–pg 15

Her partnership with Sebastian has meant the world to her, is has been one of the only way that she has been able to stay happy after her husband died. She can’t comprehend why Sebastian would want to ruin this relationship. While Sebastian tells her that they can stay friends, because the friendship is everything, it becomes strained and painful. I didn’t know my heart could hurt for two characters so early.

Amanda frowned. “I can’t tell if you two are fighting with each other, or if this is your normal mode of conversing.”-pg 42

Those are honestly the type of relationships I adore. I love banter and snark and I enjoyed these two fighting with each other because they became more snarky with each other. Hearts in this readers eyes. Violet decides it would be best for both of them if she just leaves Sebastian’s life. Something that pains him because he loves Violet in his life. She means the world to him. While she hasn’t necessarily loved him, he has loved her and he wants her in his life. If even as friends, and not co-workers, or even lovers, which at one point he hoped for.

He didn’t look away from her. “Isn’t that what I said? Only one of us is in love, and it isn’t you…..”For five years,” he said, “I’ve been your best friend, your confidante. I’ve been the one who has known everything about you.” He didn’t move toward her. “And yes, Violet. I’ve loved you.” –pg 64/65.

Violet is of the belief that no one loves her. Not the group of friends she grew up with. Not her parents or her sister and least of all Sebastian.

While telling this brilliant love story, once again Milan does not hide away from politics or creating a well fleshed out story. There wasn’t a single thing in particular about this novel that bothered me. It was again one that kept me up until the wee hours of the morning devouring the story.