In a weird turn of event, I started to DNF books this year. Because of that, I am going to do a round up this month, because maybe you read one and enjoyed one and could tell me WHAT DID I MISSSS?!

17182499Illusive (Illusive #1) by Emily Lloyd-Jones
Release Date: July 15, 2014
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Source: Edelweiss

Reason: DNF at page 121.

I was bored and stopped caring. While the tagline had me excited, the actual book did not. I would think of coming back to the book; however, right now, I was bored out of my mind and had no interest in continuing on.

 

 

 

 

 

20518922Starry Night by Isabel Gillies
Release Date: September 2, 2014
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
Source: Publisher

Reason: DNF at page 111.

The writing never worked for me and that made it hard for me to get into the story. I have no problems admitting that I would have bought this book based on the cover, but man did the story bore me. Gillies created realistic characters who acted like teenagers but that also made me hate them because she had them talk in phrases that no teenager uses. By page 111 I had to put the book down and move on. Old Ashley would have continued on, but I no longer could. I then skimmed to the end and continued to hate my life because seriously that was the ending? NO. NO. NO.

(I understand the ending fits with the story and what Gillies may have been trying to prove, but I was not in the mood for it. Not one bit.)

18306593

The Cuckoo’s Calling (Cormoran Strike #1) by Robert Galbraith
Release Date:  April 30th 2013 
Publisher: Mullholland Books
Source: Library

I wanted to enjoy this book. I enjoy mysteries. The story sounded good to me. But after listening to 3/15 tracks I was bored out of my mind and didn’t even care to try and catch up.