16030470Horrorstor: A Novel by Grady Hendrix
Release Date: September 23, 2014
Publisher: Quirk Books
Source: Library
Rating: starstarblank_starblank_starblank_star
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

Something strange is happening at the Orsk furniture superstore in Cleveland, Ohio. Every morning, employees arrive to find broken Kjerring wardrobes, shattered Brooka glassware, and vandalized Liripip sofa beds—clearly, someone or something is up to no good. To unravel the mystery, five young employees volunteer for a long dusk-till-dawn shift—and they encounter horrors that defy imagination. Along the way, author Grady Hendrix infuses sly social commentary on the nature of work in the new twenty-first century economy.

A traditional haunted house story in a contemporary setting (and full of current fears), Horrorstör comes conveniently packaged in the form of a retail catalog, complete with illustrations of ready-to-assemble furniture and other, more sinister accessories. We promise you’ve never seen anything quite like it! – Goodreads

Review:

Hello. My name is Ashley and I love me some IKEA. I have hearts in my eyes for IKEA and nothing made me more excited than when IKEA moved into town 30 minutes from my house. Thank you college town for welcoming them in with open arms. I love the organization and the catalog, and well, seriously hearts in my eyes for them. I’m not saying that Orsk is IKEA, I wouldn’t say that at all. Because that would be wrong. And IKEA is mentioned in Horrorstor.

Horrorstor takes place in Ohio, and we follow Amy. An employee at Orsk, who is over everything. She’s had enough and while she is there to work, she doesn’t love her job. She does it because it’s a paycheck. One day, her boss, Basil, asks her to work a shift off the clock, paid in cash, to see what’s going on at night. Because something is going on.

With use of interesting characters, Hendrix, makes the reader feel like they are in Orsk with it. You become annoyed at a handful of characters because your personality clashes with them. I honestly felt like I was dropped in the store, working with Amy, and also annoyed because my coworkers are here for very different reasons than me.

The store begins to play with everyone’s mind and Orsk is not the place they thought it was at night. They encounter horrors, that for good reason, they never expected. The store begins to trick people. It is constantly a scripted experience and at night that experience changes. Amy views everyone as a coworker, not a friend, so when she has the chance to escape, that is exactly what she does. However, Amy has changed. The store has changed her. It forced her to face things she never wanted her to face, but it also made her see her coworkers in a different light. One she did not want to acknowledge, at all.

There was nothing overly wrong with this book per say, it was just not a book that excited me the same way other books have lately. I also have little to no interest in re-reading it. Which is also telling.