18634726The Vanishing Season by Jodi Lynn Anderson
Release Date: July 1, 2014
Publisher: HarperTeen
Source: ALAMW2014
Rating: starstarstarstarblank_star (3.5)
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

Girls started vanishing in the fall, and now winter’s come to lay a white sheet over the horror. Door County, it seems, is swallowing the young, right into its very dirt. From beneath the house on Water Street, I’ve watched the danger swell.

The residents know me as the noises in the house at night, the creaking on the stairs. I’m the reflection behind them in the glass, the feeling of fear in the cellar. I’m tied—it seems—to this house, this street, this town.

I’m tied to Maggie and Pauline, though I don’t know why. I think it’s because death is coming for one of them, or both.

All I know is that the present and the past are piling up, and I am here to dig.I am looking for the things that are buried.

From bestselling author Jodi Lynn Anderson comes a friendship story bound in snow and starlight, a haunting mystery of love, betrayal, redemption, and the moments that we leave behind. – Goodreads

Review:

This book pulled me in from the moment it started to describe Door County and it was that accurate. I was born and semi-raised in Wisconsin. I have visited Door County numerous times in my life and Anderson very much got that feeling in The Vanishing Season. I went into this believing that The Vanishing Season was a ghost story, and while there is a ghost story, there is so much more to this story than just the ghost.

This is a haunting, slow moving story about that thing that fears people the most: growing up. Maggie moves to Door County from Chicago and slowly begins to fit in to the town. Through a job and becoming friends with Pauline, Maggie begins to feel like she fits it. Pauline also introduces Maggie to Liam, who is Pauline’s boyfriend and while the three become good friends, things change when Door County becomes a haunting location for disappearing girls. Because of the disappearing girls, everyone is on alert, including Maggie, who’s parents send her south to Milwaukee and her aunt’s house for safety. That is where the lines begin to blur, and Maggie becomes close to Liam. What I found most interesting about The Vanishing Season is Anderson was able to make me feel sympathetic for characters that would usually drive me bonkers.

My heart hurt during this whole book because it is not an easy read and the ending isn’t either. Looking back at The Vanishing Novel there really was no other choice to end the novel, it really was the only choice, but it doesn’t hurt any less.

The Vanishing Season is hard to describe because this is easily a book in which nothing happens and that is not a bad thing. This book pulled me in with flawed, realistic characters that act like teenagers, that break your heart. While The Vanishing Season is my first book by Anderson, it will not be my last.