15898731Scott Pilgrim Vs. the World (Scott Pilgrim #2) by Bryan Lee O’Malley
Release Date: August 8, 2012
Publisher: Oni Press
Source: Library
Rating: starstarstarblank_starblank_star
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

Does Scott and Ramona’s burgeoning relationship have a future? Isn’t Scott still supposedly dating Knives Chau? Who is Ramona’s second evil ex-boyfriend, and why is he in Toronto? Who are The Clash At Demonhead, and what kind of bizarre art-punky music do they play? Who’s their hot girl keyboardist, and what is Scott’s relation to her? Why are they Knives Chau’s new favourite band? Fights! Drama! Secrets revealed! The answers to all these questions and more! Goodreads

Review:

I was actually annoyed when I had to put this on hold on the library after I finished the first one! What do you mean I had to wait?! THAT IS CRAZY TALK. But it was worth the wait. I was once again wrapped up in the story of Scott vs the world around him. Scott continues to be an asshole who is fighting for the right to date Ramona. What I love about Scott Pilgrim is the fact the pop culture involved in it is almost more exciting than the actual story to me.

And I don’t mean that as an insult! There are so many little Easter eggs that I almost have this need to re-read them because I know I’ve missed things. Through use of coloring and solid drawings Scott Pilgrim tells the second arc to the story and in that story there are a lot of subplots. A lot of them to the point I felt like a notebook was the only way to keep them straight. I also noticed a lot of this volume was not as zoomed in and because of that I often did not know who was talking. And it is easier said than done to know how’s talking. Often in books I re-read to figure out it is talking. If anything it is a major pet peeve of mine when books are told in dual pov and it’s impossible to differentiate. But I regress.

It is also annoying because Scott has issues breaking up with his 17 year old girlfriend and I wanted to slap him. But as I said in the first paragraph: Scott Pilgrim is an asshole and O’Malley doesn’t shy away from the fact that 23 year olds are not perfect and are often dicks who are still figuring things out. I think young adults and adults will relate to that. I related to it, but it also dragged the book down for me I wanted more from Scott, but then I had to remind myself, this is the second volume in a six volume set. Not a lot of growth happens in the first third of most books and that’s okay.