17172103Scott Pilgrim & the Infinite Sadness (Scott Pilgrim #3) by Bryan Lee O’Malley
Release Date: June 4, 2013
Publisher: Oni Press
Source: Library
Rating: starstarstarblank_starblank_star
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

The full-color, completely remastered, utterly astounding republication of the Scott Pilgrim epic continues! This new 6″x9″ hardcover presents Scott’s run-in with Ramona ex, Envy boy toy, and The Clash at Demon Head with bassist Todd Ingram as you’ve never seen it before – in full-color! Plus, previously unpublished extras, hard-to-find short stories, and exclusive bonus materials will make you see Scott Pilgrim in a whole new light!–Goodreads

Review:

Scott Pilgirm gets progressively better throughout the series, but there are still faults in the series. While I have no regrets reading it (and enjoying it) I do wish O’Malley wouldn’t have taken the ‘typical’ route many times. I think half way through the series, it would have been more interesting to see boundaries pushed and risks to be taken. However, I understand and respect the fact this series blew up as it went along and risks couldn’t be taken from the get-go.

I did enjoy this installment, and enjoyed the story that O’Malley told. Scott is still the same from the previous two novels. He’s still an asshole who doesn’t think before he speaks. Or thinks at all. The world continues to revolve around him and he gets confused when people think about people who aren’t him. Like that happens? Some of the best parts of Scott Pilgrim for me, are throughout the series are the facial expressions that his friends give him when he opens his mouth. The group of friends was constantly real to me. They were snarky, they called out each other, and they didn’t find the fact that Scott is having to face Ramona’s evil exs and it was fun.

I have never gone into this series expecting anything and that has made this series so much more fun for me. Every page is a surprise and the bit of pop culture thrown in makes it even more enjoyable. I get why my friends have been encouraging me to read this series for years.