22706875The Suffragette Scandal (Brothers Sinister #4) by Courtney Milan
Release Date: July 15, 2014
Publisher: Courtney Milan
Source: Library
Rating: starstarblank_starblank_starblank_star
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

An idealistic suffragette…

Miss Frederica “Free” Marshall has put her heart and soul into her newspaper, known for its outspoken support of women’s rights. Naturally, her enemies are intent on destroying her business and silencing her for good. Free refuses to be at the end of her rope…but she needs more rope, and she needs it now.

…a jaded scoundrel…

Edward Clark’s aristocratic family abandoned him to die in a war-torn land, so he survived the only way he could: by becoming a rogue and a first-class forger. When the same family that left him for dead vows to ruin Miss Marshall, he offers his help. So what if he has to lie to her? She’s only a pawn to use in his revenge.

…and a scandal seven years in the making.

But the irrepressible Miss Marshall soon enchants Edward. By the time he realizes that his cynical heart is hers, it’s too late. The only way to thwart her enemies is to reveal his scandalous past…and once the woman he loves realizes how much he’s lied to her, he’ll lose her forever.
. – Goodreads

Review:

While I fell in love with the previous novels in the series, The Suffragette Scandal, took me longer to warm up to, which ultimately made me struggle throughout the book. And that was rough for me because I wanted to enjoy it because I’ve enjoyed the previous books in the novels. Hell, I started to enjoy historical romances which is not remotely my typical genre!

But Suffragette Scandal, suffered. It took me forever not only to get into this book, but to enjoy it. While I enjoyed Free from previous books, the love story of Free and Edward never worked for me, or made me want to read The Suffragette Scandal. I’m not sure what it was: the mood or the book. But while I finished the book, it was a torture. I will however be happy to read Milan’s books in the future! I enjoyed the previous books in the series and blame me for the dislike of this one not working for me.

I may even come back to The Suffragette Scandal in the future, but for this moment this book fell extremely flat for me.