21938168The Shape of My Heart (2B Trilogy #3) by Ann Aguirre
Release Date: November 25. 2014
Publisher: Harlequin HQN
Source: Netgalley
Rating: starstarstarblank_starblank_star
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

Some people wait decades to meet their soul mate. Courtney Kaufman suspects she met hers in high school only to lose him at seventeen. Since then, Courtney’s social life has been a series of meaningless encounters, though she’s made a few close friends along the way. Especially her roommate Max Cooper, who oozes damaged bad-boy vibes from every pore.

Max knows about feeling lost and trying to move beyond the pain he’s been on his own since he was sixteen. Now it’s time to find out if he can ever go home again, and Courtney’s the only one he trusts to go with him. But the trip to Providence could change everything because the more time he spends with Courtney, the harder it is to reconcile what he wants and what he thinks he deserves.

It started out so simple. One misfit helping another. Now Max will do anything to show Courtney that for every heart that’s ever been broken, there’s another that can make it complete. – Goodreads

Review:

This book did not work for me in the same way the previous two in the series did. There is not one thing in particular that set it off. The pacing, the characters, the story line. All of it felt slow and that I was sludging through it. It started off so well that I was enjoying it particularly when Courtney was giving us gems such as this one:

If my life were a romantic comdedy, I wouldn’t be the star, I’d be the witty, wise-cracking friend, telling the Reese Witherspoon character to follow her heart, and I’d be played by America Ferrera, Hollywood’s idea of an ugly duckling–1% eARC

Romance ranked dead last on my to-do list at the moment.–1% eARC.

Courtney was snarky, and didn’t take much shit. I enjoyed her; however, the way the eARC was formatted it was often hard to tell if I was in Courtney’s mind or Max’s brain. Here’s a hint: the whole novel is from Courtney’s point of view. But once I figured out the point of view problem,  The Shape of My Heart did become easier to read. Max and Courtney are a cute duo of friends who slowly become closer when he grandfather dies and she accompanies  him home.

When they are at his childhood home, she realizes how lucky she is that he’s even alive today. His father is an asshole, his mother died, and he is convinced his whole family hates him. I say he’s convinced because minus his father, no one hates him and his father is a drunk so we’re not going to count him.

What Aguirre does well is the love story. It’s painful, realistic, and beautiful. Of course I wanted them to talk at one point, but that always happens when I read romance novels. At one point I have this need to yell “JUST SPEAK TO EACH OTHER.” But it really does work, and it’s beautiful.

I didn’t fall in love with you in a few weeks. It was so slow and deep that I’ll never stop feeling it. —97% eARC

While this is a solid series, I wish it was…better. I did like the end of this book and how it ties everything together throughout the three books. But I do wish there was more.