20613635There Will Be Lies  by Nick Lake
Release Date: January 6, 2015
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Source: ALA2014
Rating: starstarstarblank_starblank_star
Buy It: Amazon | IndieBound

In four hours, Shelby Jane Cooper will be struck by a car.

Shortly after, she and her mother will leave the hospital and set out on a winding journey toward the Grand Canyon.

All Shelby knows is that they’re running from dangers only her mother understands. And the further they travel, the more Shelby questions everything about her past—and her current reality. Forced to take advantage of the kindness of unsuspecting travelers, Shelby grapples with what’s real, what isn’t, and who she can trust . . . if anybody.

Award-winning author Nick Lake proves his skills as a master storyteller in this heart-pounding new novel. This emotionally charged thrill ride leads to a shocking ending that will have readers flipping back to the beginning– Goodreads

Review:

I shut this book and emailed my friend going “DUDE. THIS BOOK. DUDE.” I hate saying that this because I loathe when people go “THIS IS THE [INSERT ADULT BOOK] FOR YA PEOPLE!” BUT this book had such Gone Girl vibes as in from the first page I trusted no one. I’m also the person who tends to read the last page of a book (because I’m the worst, even with romance novels) but this is one that I waited on and I’m glad. I have no idea how to rate it because I’m still fairly confused and shocked by There Will Be Lies.

I’m also pretty sure that is a good comparison for how Shelby Jane Cooper felt, or at least how she felt by the end of the book. This book is such a mind game that you spend so much time trusting no one that by the end you’re like “WHAT DID I JUST READ!?”  That also means that this book is hard to discuss because almost anything you discuss could be considered a spoiler. But here is what I can discuss: the book takes place in Arizona, Shelby is very much of a loner, and she enjoys going to the batting cages.

I know, you want more, and that seems like a cop out, but in the vein of We Were Liars or Gone Girl it really is hard to discuss this novel without giving away big game changing moments. I know how annoying this is, but really, you just have to read it.